Skip to content

Into the woods

May 5, 2009

When the rain finally slowed to a fine drizzle on Sunday afternoon, I went out to walk the property line. It might have been my last chance before the road and trails are grown over with poison ivy and crawling with ticks and chiggers and other itchy threats that will keep us out of the woods through the summer.

Last year, the week after he was born, the same walk marked my first hour-long separation from Jack. We left him next door with my mother and hiked down to the cliff at the back of our little plot of land. It was also my first real postpartum walk, and I thought I’d die before we made it back up. Halfway home I was already half crazy and sure that I could hear the baby screaming, but I staggered in to find him sleeping.

Sixteen acres isn’t that many, especially compared to the bigger and more isolated property I grew up on. From there it’s a rugged driveway and miles of dirt roads and blacktop to the highway; from my kitchen window I can see pavement and the neighbor’s house. But when I walk over the hill and into the middle of part of the woods, I can’t hear any cars or see any buildings. My friends would argue that we live in the middle of nowhere year-round, but only views like these remind me that we have more than a big backyard.

intothewoods1

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2009 8:41 pm

    Oh my word, those pictures are amazing. I love the collage you’ve made out of the dripping spring beauty.
    Does it feel crazy to think back to a year ago? Amazing to think how much life and growth has been packed into just one year? Yep, kids do that to ya!! :-)

  2. May 5, 2009 9:33 pm

    Oooh! The rain is back here again today, but I didn’t get out and make the most of it like you did–it feels gorgeous and green and I Love your detail shots of the tree bark. Just beautiful!

  3. Susan permalink
    May 5, 2009 9:35 pm

    yep. green loveliness. thanks for passing along a bit of the peace that lives in your backyard.

  4. Elizabeth permalink
    May 6, 2009 2:48 am

    What a beautiful spread of pictures, Leslie!

  5. May 6, 2009 11:56 am

    you are a part of nature!… beautiful pictures!… i agree, nice collage!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

