Skip to content

thankful x 6

September 24, 2010

After two days on the road,
I am thankful for the weekend,
which I will spend at home
with my husband and my son
(who is afraid of the telephone
even when I’m away for work).

We’ll hit the home improvement stores,
then plumb and paint and hammer
By Sunday we could have stairs!
(A few stairs. They’re a start.)

Also, it’s my sister’s birthday today.
She is getting married next year.
She is visiting next month. Yay!

I am thankful, too, that when
I accidentally used my state-issued Visa
to buy a second potty chair
and a good book from Amazon.com,
I was laughed at, not fired.
(But I owe the University $31.19.)

The other day I caught Jack
in the bathroom, peeing standing up.
So that takes care of that.

Next week, when I’m traveling again
I’ll be thankful for attentive teenagers,
fun colleagues, and plenty of coffee;
two days of schedules so busy
that before long, I’ll be home.

I’m linking up to Making Things Up for six word friday, where the theme today is thankful.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2010 8:28 pm

    I too am thankful for the weekend! I can’t wait for my husband to get home in an hour and a half. Great images. I loved the credit card part.

  2. September 24, 2010 8:52 pm

    I am scandalized by your blatant misuse of state funds! :)

    Enjoy the weekend.

  3. September 24, 2010 10:47 pm

    At least it was a good book.

    And good luck on the stairs!

  4. September 25, 2010 3:05 am

    Awesome!! Even if you did break the law. Hehe. : )

  5. September 25, 2010 3:46 pm

    Being away from loved ones sucks.
    Misused state bucks, Leslie? Aw shucks.

  6. September 25, 2010 8:30 pm

    Coming home is always the best feeling. Revel in it!

  7. September 27, 2010 10:41 am

    Traveling is so hard for me, I always miss home the moment I am gone.
    Only a mother is thankful that her boy stands to pee…that cracked me up (because I wasn’t sure Francesco ever would and then one day he did).

  8. September 27, 2010 11:26 am

    You are such a busy lady! Honestly, how do you do it and with such enthusiasm.

    And peeing standing up?! Hurray!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

