Skip to content

The weekend rush

October 7, 2010

After a busy week at work (last week: Memphis on Tuesday, Kansas City on Friday), I want Saturday morning to look like an available hammock or, in the cooler weather we’re having, a comfortable armchair.

It doesn’t.

As much as I want to lounge, I also want the laundry pile and the fine sawdust to disappear. It feels like we could build yet another house out of the plastic bins that are filling rooms in this one. And outside we still need more gutters, grass seed and gravel. I need to grade papers and get out the sweaters and make time for dinner dates and visits with grandparents. And get two days full of my two-year-old, whose days I nearly miss five times a week.

So I do my best to get in the work and the weekend. This Saturday, my husband went to work, as he does every other weekend. I had coffee and Jack had cheerios, and then we drove to my dad’s place and walked to his house, where we played music and ate the last of the tomatoes and watermelon and dug strawberry plants.


On the way back, Jack napped and I spent $1.75 on a brownie, a cinnamon roll and a cup of homemade vanilla ice cream at a neighbor’s bakesale, where the three kids were learning to count change and raising money for a home addition that will put them their own rooms.

At 5 o’clock we drove a mile to hear some live folk music and play hide and seek with Jack and a four-year-old girl, the lively daughter of the bass and guitar players. Then we headed to town: dinner with friends for us; dinner with grandparents for Jack.

The next morning we were up by 7:15. Outside there was brush to burn, a truckload of scrap metal to compile and haul off, a dozen or more soffit vents to install; inside, a week’s worth of work clothes to iron, closet shelves and to hang and a season’s worth of clothes to pack away. But we remembered the weekend and also squeezed in pancakes, two pots of coffee and a small batch of half-sour pickles before lunch.

But after lunch I hit the wall. I looked around at the unwashed clothes and the  unpacked boxes and the unpainted cabinets and felt like I was looking at an afternoon – weeks, maybe – of putting out fires.

I must have said so. (Two notes on the photo: 1) Regarding the “chemical use” jug behind Jack – I have no idea. It isn’t for putting out fires. 2) Notice that I’m on the floor at this point. It wasn’t so that I could take a headless photo of my son… .)

Eventually Jack took a nap. It should have been a window of opportunity – but the window was foggy and cluttered, and I hardly knew where to begin. I felt buried, and I felt bad – my husband was outside on a ladder, and I was inside staring blankly at my sleeping son. I wanted to sit, and I wanted to NOT want to sit. I needed the momentum that a half-checked-off list would give me. (What I actually needed was to give in, mix a drink, watch some Netflix and move on with my life. Hindsight and all that.)

So I made the list of all the things that were done and tried crossing them off with satisfaction. It helped a little.
I folded laundry, a chore I’ve never hated, and I thought about what I might say first to my class on Tuesday afternoon. It helped a little.
Jack woke up happy and danced around to Dora while I made dinner. That helped a lot.
Don came in happy, proud of having crossed so many items off of his to-do list. I felt like small potatoes, but it still helped a lot.

When the weekend was over, the strawberry plants still sat outside in a shallow cardboard box, and the kitchen was still full of plastic bins. But the laundry pile was gone, and I’d filled bag after bag with good stuff for the Salvation Army. A dent, at least.

And if not quite lemonade, at least I made pickles.

Do you keep a to-do list? What do you do when it threatens to eat you alive? How do you tackle it and still give yourself a break? What does a productive weekend look like for you?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2010 7:55 pm

    There is so much in this post… I can only imagine the fog that you’re in at times.
    Hang in there…
    (For what it’s worth, that jar of pickles is making my mouth water! Looks delish!)

  2. October 7, 2010 8:20 pm

    Holy Cr*p, do I EVER resonate with “I wanted to sit, and I wanted to NOT want to sit.”

    I think that every single Sunday is like that for me. Saturdays are alright, but man Sunday, I really have to kick myself in the pants to do anything all the while knowing that I’m going to feel so much better if I am productive. What is that? I will literally sit on my couch thinking “go was the dishes. go. right now. go. now. go, you feel guilty about not doing it. go right now. you want clean dishes. go…” and on and on. So maybe that makes you feel a little better? That somewhere in Virginia there’s a weirdo that talks herself in and out of housework?

    I’ll think of you this Sunday and I’ll jump right up, I promise. ;-)

  3. October 7, 2010 9:51 pm

    It sounds like a great weekend but dang, I’m tired just reading this. I have a sick kid home today and it’s been a great excuse to just stay on the couch and cuddle.

  4. October 7, 2010 10:22 pm

    OH my, I was exhausted just reading about everything on your to do list. Glad you took the time out to spend with your son – never feel guilty for doing that, in the blink of an eye he will be grown and moving on.

  5. October 8, 2010 2:51 pm

    I live and breathe my to-do lists. But sometimes I want to chunk the list and be free. Hang in there. We have all been there. Munch on some of those scrumptious pickles!

  6. October 8, 2010 6:02 pm

    I am married to my to-do list.
    Sadly, I have started to make a separate area on my lists titled “Things to discuss with Dan,” because the old brain is mushy and I’ll never remember otherwise. Romantic, I know.

    Enjoy those pickles!

  7. October 8, 2010 9:51 pm

    Weekends like that make me say, “Thank goodness for pancakes … and pickles!” My to-do list is always long and always taunting me. I usually ignore, ignore, ignore it until I am literally seconds away from exploding. Then I tackle two or three or ten things and feel a teeny bit better. Then I nap, or daydream about napping, at the very least. =>

  8. Nikki permalink
    October 10, 2010 1:59 am

    Leslie: I loved this post. I guess after a day of trying to share meals with my family, car-shopping, napping (not for me), hanging pantry shelves, painting, going to the park, cleaning, cooking, and spending my night writing mid-terms, your post resonantes. Thanks for sharing!

  9. October 10, 2010 2:52 am

    omg i want a pickle. like right now.

    and i make todo lists just to cross things off (sometimes i put thing on there that i’ve already done so i know i’ll have one thing to cross off)

    i read in my “simple living” days that after you make your todo list? You should cut it IN HALF. I tried it a few times. It was actually quite wonderful.

  10. October 11, 2010 9:32 pm

    As a new mom, my to do list is eating me alive. There’s more to do and less time to do it in. I’m trying to let some things go, but it’s really hard. And now I’m about to go back to work – which is freaking me out!

  11. October 11, 2010 11:38 pm

    Honey, all I can say is take care of yourself okay? Remember you. And try, if you can, to put what can wait aside.
    xo

  12. October 12, 2010 1:08 pm

    Wow – that’s some weekend. If I get laundry and meals made, I’m golden most days, but that doesn’t mean I don’t have a list a mile long of things I need to complete around the house. It just means they’ll have to wait while we rush around during the weekend trying to pack in as much fun as we can. Sometimes too much where the chores get neglected. But that’s what weekdays and next weekend are for right? :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

