Skip to content

early morning, late night

November 16, 2010

Some days, my job feels like a baby. Like yesterday, when I kicked off the week on the wrong side of 3:30 a.m. again, getting up to drive across two-thirds of the state to teach for a few hours in a tiny welcoming school. “This hurts,” I said when I got out of bed in what would usually be the middle of my night. But, like shots or piercings or a really bad commercial, only for a minute. I’m learning that once I’m up, I’m up – and on this trip, when the skies lit up a full hour earlier than they did last month on this drive, I learned to further love the time change and dawn’s early light.

I could have caught a ride with a colleague who drove down the day before. But that’s Sunday, a day I always want to protect from my job. I could have been spared a 3 a.m. alarm, but I would have missed so much more. Namely our last-chance-this-season trip to the zoo with a friend for everybody, including Jack -

I would have missed a nice family car ride, with time for making Christmas and to-do lists and watching big waves of little birds fly alongside us on the highway.

What I wouldn’t have missed is another night of family construction. Last night, while I was getting tired from a very long day, my husband was getting industrious after his, building stairs that we’ve been needing (but stranding Jack and me in the kitchen until nearly midnight). I fell asleep on the couch and woke sometime after 11, surprised that Jack was still upright and wearing safety goggles. Today, I’ve never been more glad for a day off – or for my toddler to sleep in until almost 9.

(I could use a migration. Couldn’t you?)

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2010 3:53 pm

    3am? Ouch! That’s just a WRONG time of the day to get up. But those happy faces at the zoo certainly are proof that you made the right decision!

  2. November 16, 2010 4:24 pm

    Oh my goodness. That IS early and it must hurt. I hope you are finding a little time to put the feet up and think only of you today. (Wishful thinking? – Well I certainly wish it FOR you)
    xo

  3. sister permalink
    November 16, 2010 6:32 pm

    Two thumbs up!

  4. November 16, 2010 7:32 pm

    3:00 a.m. – Oh goodness! Sounds as if the zoo and the family ride was worth it. But hope you get to catch up on some zzz’s soon.

  5. November 17, 2010 3:20 am

    Ouch! That was my first thought too like TKW – getting up at that time in the morning! But yes, when I was working even though I had no daughter to consider I would always opt to leave on a Monday morning, no matter how early, rather than a Sunday. I’m glad you had such a wonderful family day.

  6. November 17, 2010 5:53 am

    You are awesome. Making that decision to spend time with your family is a hard one, especially when it means very early rising times, but it was obviously important and definitely wise. : )

    By the way, I absolutely adore that picture of you and Jack on the sidebar.

  7. November 17, 2010 4:25 pm

    I LOVE that picture. It’s going to be going up on my blog soon as well.

    You saw that bird migration too? Wasn’t it awesome? Randy was in serious awe!

    And you were stranded until midnight? And Jack just hung out wearing his safety goggles? HILARIOUS!!!

    Talk with you soon!

    – Melissa

  8. November 17, 2010 4:43 pm

    Construction, early mornings, long days. It’s all so close and familiar and yet very different at the same time in my world. Which is to say, I enjoyed this glimpse of a day, a choice and the details that matter.

  9. November 18, 2010 7:03 pm

    Wow – 3 am. I’m in awe. When we were making plans to drive 8 hours to see a friend with our toddler in tow, we thought she’d do best sleeping mostly so we decided to start the journey really early. It began with a discussion about leaving at 3am that lasted about five minutes. Then it became 4am for awhile. But we really had to be honest with ourselves and in the end went with 5am. Anything before that and we’re setting ourselves up for failure. This family does not do well pre-dawn. So yes, I’m in awe of your 3am rise.

  10. Sus permalink
    November 19, 2010 3:11 am

    This post is comforting like a good poem. You’re a good writer and a good mama. And a stud :) Thanks for sharing.

Trackbacks

  1. Reeling in the year « Five to Nine

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

