Skip to content

Sleepless in the Ozarks

October 8, 2008

Whatever you do, please don’t ask whether my baby is sleeping through the night yet. This FAQ and I are sooooo over.

It isn’t that I don’t want to answer; I rarely miss an opportunity to talk, and I’m happy to share my perspectives on 12, 2, and 4 a.m. It’s that heavy-handed last word, “yet,” which I naturally take to mean that your baby is slumbering away the wee hours, and has been doing so since, oh, about the one-month mark?

The short answer to my least-favorite FAQ, as you’ve probably guessed, is, uh, No.

Jack was 6 months old last weekend, and he has never slept the whole night through. Last night he won the title for worst sleep ever, waking up a record 300 times.

He doesn’t sleep with us. I don’t enjoy lattes with dinner. (I do enjoy the occasional glass of wine, which might make you hate me, but should not keep him awake.) I’ve tried teething tablets, gripe water and white noise. He takes short, if any, naps each afternoon. And though I’m utterly unable to let him cry it out, at the urging of our pediatrician, whom we adore, we did try the 5-minute rule for more than a week, to no avail.

What really gets me is this: When I was pregnant, I didn’t expect to sleep all night for a year or more.  And though I’d heard tales of The Sleeping Wonder, I assigned it to the urban legend category and moved on. But now that I have a baby with sleep habits for others to wonder about, it’s open season around here, and I swear, every new parent I meet is armed with this word “yet” and these delightful stories about a soundly sleeping child.

Which leaves me left to wonder why my child is apparently the only 6-month-old on the planet who wakes up to eat and cuddle while everyone else is out cold. I’m still clinging to my skepticism – my mother says she can’t remember sleeping a whole night for at least a year – but for D, hoping every evening that tonight will be different is getting painful.

Sleep is for the weak, right? Sigh.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2008 1:14 am

    Don’t worry. It will happen. It will!
    Just don’t ask me when my three started sleeping through the night…

  2. October 9, 2008 4:05 am

    Oh, I promise, you are not alone. I soooo had that baby and I soooo heard that question. My favorite follow-up was “You must be nursing?” YES AND WHAT OF IT?! grrrr.

    Thanks for coming to visit my blog!

Trackbacks

  1. Baby Einstein? « Five to Nine
  2. A Dose of Humor - Baby Einstein?

Leave a Reply

