Skip to content

Nobody’s perfect

October 10, 2008

We don’t have a microwave, a pantry full of canned food, or a freezer full of prepared meals. Using fresh, healthful ingredients, I cook a well-balanced dinner nearly every night. We don’t stock the fridge with soda, we don’t eat MSG, we avoid high-fructose corn syrup, and we have salad alongside every meal. (Don’t throw up yet – I’ll get to the “But…”)

These habits are definitely thanks to my parents, who kept a big garden and made everything from scratch. On the other hand, they knew how to splurge. On fishing trips, we drank grape soda and ate Guy’s potato chips. On road trips we frequented the drive-thru. Though fast food wasn’t on our weekly dinner rotation — we lived an hour from town, anyway — we definitely weren’t banned from the occasional Happy Meal.

Today, even though most of our meals include three or more vegetables, and I love a raw food lunch, we aren’t perfectly nutritious. We fry things. We buy bacon in bulk at Sam’s Club. I draw the line at KFC, but The Quarter Pounder with Cheese meal is my favorite roadtrip fare, and D sometimes buys those waxy gas-station donuts. And last night, after a long day and some overtime, we watched the presidential debate and had a tasty meal courtesy of Taco Bell.

Judge if you want, but I think the occasional fall off the farmstand keeps one grounded. (For the record, I feel the same way about reading Us Weekly alongside the Times, and following a great Margaret Atwood novel with one about Bridget Jones.  So shoot me.) I have seen (and loved) Supersize Me. I buy organic babyfood, and make some of my own. It’ll be years before Jack’s allowed to have a soda, and I hope to teach him why we don’t want to eat McDonald’s for lunch any more often than rarely, but the occasional junk-food splurge won’t kill us. (In fact, it might keep our friends from killing us.)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Elizabeth permalink
    October 10, 2008 3:43 pm

    Thanks for letting me in on your blog! I think a little Taco Bell every now and then (and Chick-Fil-A, of course) keeps a family humble. 🙂

  2. October 12, 2008 1:33 am

    Love me some Taco Bell, too…and we aren’t nearly as healthful as you are on a regular basis!

Trackbacks

  1. Motherlove « Five to Nine
  2. Five to Nine

Leave a Reply

