Skip to content

Works-for-me Wednesday: commuter coffee

November 12, 2008

It’s another Works-for-me Wednesday at Rocks in My Dryer.

I spend 40 minutes in the car each weekday morning, propelled by two fuels – one in my gas tank and one in my coffee mug. Like reportedly more than half of all Americans, I’m hooked on caffeine, one of the fastest-acting and most popular drugs around.

Just after the alarm goes off at 5:45, D rolls out of bed to grind beans and boil water for the french press and to heat up the milk for frothing, so that I can have a cup of coffee worth getting up for.

Unfortunately, it does not travel well. The trip down our rocky driveway is not a smooth ride, and though I’m practiced at holding the cup steady and as far from myself as possible, I can’t always contain the sloshing. I’ve never been a huge fan of the standard travel mug, whose plastic lid and stainless steel lining soak up odors and impart weird flavors to my coffee. And while packages of standard to-go cups and lids are cheap, they’re a little too disposable for my taste.

Enter the I am Not a Paper Cup, an infinitely reusable porcelain look-alike with a silicon lid, the perfect union of commuter style and practicality. Even if your drive doesn’t include the jostling obstacles mine does, this chic cup could pad your conscience (in the sustainable living department) or your wallet (as in the latte factor, that seemingly insignificant $2-$4 so many of us spend daily at the local coffee shop that adds up fast – to the tune of $1,500 a year, or more. Calculate your latte factor here).

If you’re among the lucky most that don’t have to worry so much about coffee jumping out of the cup, check out these washable, lidless replicas of other coffee-to-go classics, including the corrugated “cardboard” cup and this standard Greek deli version.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2008 5:19 pm

    OK, I think the “I Am Not A Paper Cup” design is just brilliant!

    I don’t know whether it’s particularly heat conductive, but if you know any knitters, making a cup sleeve out of wool is easy, cheap and chic (I went through a phase last year). And if you DON’T know any knitters, I bet you can find a sleeve on etsy.

  2. November 12, 2008 5:41 pm

    Too cool! And just the right size for my VW cup holders. 🙂

  3. November 12, 2008 10:36 pm

    Thanks for the the post. My wife keeps telling me that I should really work on my carbon footprint.

    Is this company paying you for your post?

  4. November 13, 2008 5:39 pm

    It’s true I do! Only he usually refers to it as his “carbn press.”

  5. November 13, 2008 5:39 pm

    Carbon PRESS! I promise I can spell.

  6. November 13, 2008 7:14 pm

    Those are great–I love the Greek diner one. Would make a great gift for a New Yorker! I also hate the way the travel mugs make my drinks taste.

Leave a Reply

