Skip to content

Baby, it’s cold outside

November 24, 2008

Yes, even in Arkansas, where the temperature sank to 18° Friday night. In weather like this, I like to stand dangerously close to the potbellied stove that heats my father’s house.

dsc_2410

It’s only a few miles away, but our house is south-facing, and his is on the north slope, where it’s colder and shadier, and the wind is meaner. Dad spends much of his day outside, hunting, cutting firewood, or otherwise working outside. But when it’s truly cold, I’ll usually find him in the house, making baskets (that’s what he Does) to fill holiday orders and keeping the fire going, which I’m always glad for after the brisk walk down the driveway (a steep, rocky road — it’s often too risky to try driving in) or around the property.

walkback1

D spent most of the weekend with the chainsaw, stocking up on firewood for us. Jack and I have been collecting pinecones from the yard, to fill a basket of firestarters and to minimize the number of saplings I’ll have to pull up in the spring.  So far, I think this is Jack’s favorite season, probably because it’s the crunchiest.

brr

Happy Best Shot Monday. Check out more at Mother May I.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2008 4:19 am

    This was so beautiful. Not just the photos (and especially that of the little one!) but the text too. You made me feel as if I’m there too.

  2. November 26, 2008 3:39 am

    It makes me long for those warm cozy nights in the house by the fire. But then I vividly remember getting out of bed in the morning – no thanks! Lovely photos all the same.

  3. January 8, 2010 3:12 pm

    I’m writing about the same thing in Asheville, NC! We are almost out of propane and the wood stove is keeping me warm enough for the moment… Thanks for sharing. Nice photos!
    Terri

Trackbacks

  1. Five to Nine
  2. Five to Nine
  3. Kicking up the dust « Five to Nine

Leave a Reply

