Skip to content

The latest in lullabies

December 3, 2008

They’re not Rock-a-bye Baby or Brahm’s, according The Baby Website’s survey, where Katy Perry, Guns ‘n Roses, Christina Aguiliera and The Spice Girls all made the top 20 list of songs today’s parents sing to lull their babies to sleep.

Jack is also a pop music devotee – he loves bringing sexyback – but Justin Timberlake isn’t in my solo repertoire. I don’t sing Rock-a-bye Baby (I would love to know how a song about a baby falling out of a tree is supposed to be comforting. What is that baby doing in the treetop? Obviously that lullaby predates nannycams.), but Jack hears a lot of other songs that reference sleep or night, such as Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star and the Lawrence Welk Show theme (I believe I’ve already explained how I’ve spent most of my life relying on PBS for entertainment?).

Evidently I’m one of the few new mothers out there singings songs that my parents would recognize. According to The Baby Website’s poll of 2,000 women, every one else is singing these instead:

1. Patience, Take That
2. Angels, Robbie Williams
3. I Kissed a Girl, Kate Perry
4. You’re Beautiful, James Blunt
5. Love Me Tender, Elvis Presley
6. Beautiful, Christina Aguillera
7. Warwick Avenue, Duffy
8. Sweet Child O’ Mine, Guns n Roses
9. Wonderwall, Oasis
10. Girls, Sugababes
11. Back for Good, Take That
12. I Will Always Love You, Whitney Houston
13. Everything I Do, I Do it for You, Bryan Adams
14. Chasing Pavements, Adele
15. I’ll Stand By You, Girls Aloud
16. Dance Wiv Me, Dizzy Rascal
17. Nothing Compares to You, Sinead O’Connor
18. You’re Flying Without Wings, Westlife
19. Put Your Records On, Corinne Bailey Rae
20. Mama, Spice Girls

One Comment leave one →
  1. Elizabeth permalink
    December 4, 2008 10:19 pm

    What, no Baby Got Back? Please tell me you’ve seen that episode of Friends.

Leave a Reply

