Skip to content

’tis the season

December 11, 2008

I was excited and relieved that my office elected this year to forego a secret Santa drawing in lieu of the Salvation Army Angel Tree (as much as I need a decorative coffee mug, refrigerator magnet, day calendar or bobble head, I’ll pass).  We collected enough for a purple 10-speed and a cool pair of sneakers for our angel, an 11-year-old girl who otherwise might not have had much to open on Christmas morning. I shopped for her with several coworkers yesterday afternoon, and we were saddened by the number of angels still left on the tree at a local Wal-Mart, where several of us ended up doing some extra shopping.

I picked up a ticket for an 89-year-old woman who needed warm clothes and a blanket and also wanted a baby doll, and I almost cried. This time last year, I couldn’t have known how sweet it is to comfort and protect a little one; how being taken care of can play second fiddle to having someone depend on you; how it can delight and fill you up.  I hope the sweatsuit and slippers and fleece blanket make her holidays warmer, and I hope that little baby boy doll, with the pacifier and change of clothes,  warms her up with the feeling of being needed.

I was further humbled this morning by my friend and colleague who spent her evening and $200 on gifts for two strangers she found on the  same tree. I hope there were others who, upon passing that tree and seeing it hung with have-nots, added some items to their shopping lists. That we are holiday shopping – really, even that we can count “shopping” among our to-do items – means that we have much more than so many.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 11, 2008 10:32 pm

    What a wonderful thing for your office to do and for you to go the extra mile while there shopping.

    Our office has a mixture of both. One year I gave everyone in our office a gift certificate to justgive.org for them to choose their charity. My boss usually gives me a gift certifcate to a crisis nursery here in town. I need to figure out what charity I want to do this year, too.

    The hubby was going to grab a name off the giving tree at work, but by the time he got to it all the names were gone. That is a good thing!

Leave a Reply

