Skip to content

30:00 – Make macaroons.

February 5, 2009

My mother and I have been trying new Indian recipes lately, and we’re both overstocked on flaked coconut. Armed with my extra
30 minutes, a half a bag of sweetened coconut flakes, four egg whites (left over from the yolks I used on a batch of chocolate pudding the night before, also doable in half an hour), 1/3 cup flour, a little vanilla and some melted chocolate, I mixed up the ingredients and baked them at 325 for 20 minutes, dipped the bottoms in chocolate and polished off our evening with macaroons.

macs

Scones are another great way to round out the what-to-do-with-leftover-coconut repertoire. I make mine with melted butter, to
speed things up and to avoid the tedious butter-cutting that most delicious pastries and quick breads require. (Before Jack arrived,
I did a little bit of recipe development for a publishing company that does cookbooks, and I got D – more of an expert in the bread baking department than I – to help me with the great melted vs. chilled butter contest of 2008. Melted butter yields a softer, slightly cakier scone – worth it in every way, for me, but I haven’t abandoned the traditional variety altogether. Just on weekdays.) We use about 1/4 cup more flour, an extra tablespoon of butter (about 6), and 1/2 cup liquid ingredients (1/2 cup of cream or 1/4 cream and 1/4 milk).

One Comment leave one →
  1. John permalink
    February 6, 2009 3:40 pm

    Very impressive! Sounds pretty yummy to me.

Leave a Reply

