Skip to content

Daylight savings

March 13, 2009

I may have missed some sleep last weekend, but by 6 p.m. on Sunday I was feeling that hour lost was really an hour gained.  I’ve always complained about this suffering through the regression of standard time, but this spirit-raising spring forward might just make up for it. It’s a little harder to get out of bed in the morning, but driving away from the dark in the morning is so much more satisfying than driving into it after work.

After all, our weekday mornings are a blurry, strong coffee, I’ll-trade-you-a-baby-for-a-shower, PLEASE TAKE THE CHEERIOS, where’s-my-other-shoe kind of time, and nothing but a change in regular business hours is going to change that. On a workday, my life at home really begins and ends within that precious four-hour stretch this blog is named for, and exchanging morning for evening light is A-OK with me.

But while I’m celebrating, it seems like much of the DST-observing world is commiserating. Last October, as I was resentfully falling back to standard time, Lisa Belkin of Motherlode was writing about her favorite night of the year. And if you’re a serious member of the Daylight Savings Time club, you can join the campaign to end it.

Not I. Welcome back, Daylight Savings Time. I’ve missed you. (Same to you, Friday.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2009 2:37 am

    I think I pretty much agree with you. At first the earlier mornings were a little rough, but now that we’re all getting used to it I’m just so happy (like you) to have more sunshine in the evening!

Trackbacks

  1. Spring training « Five to Nine

Leave a Reply

