Skip to content

Hand-me-downs

April 1, 2009
tags:

It’s encouraging to see signs of survival in retail these days.  Resale stores have been in the news lately for doing well despite the tough economy and tighter wallets, and yesterday I did my part to help at my favorite local (and best named) used-children’s-clothing store, Once Upon A Child.  I suppose they deal in sell-me-downs, more accurately, but either way, it’s an excellent application of the second of the three “R”s.  Parents who’d rather have some extra cash than a plastic tub of outgrown clothes can sell some to a store that can resell them with low overhead and little risk. Jack, who doesn’t have an older brother, get’s pre-softened clothing with that nice worn-in look that J. Crew would describe as “heirloom.” And yours truly gets to pat herself on the back AND explain the charges to the Mr. by describing her choices as “cheap” and  “recycled.”

I love it when everyone wins.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2009 11:33 pm

    I love hand-me-downs no matter what way I get them. I also love giving stuff I have to other. One of the best feeling is knowing that the stuff you loved for your kids others are loving for theirs.

    BTW- thanks for the link to the cupcake wrappers. I am so debating getting the Train ones for my oldest 3rd B-day along with the invite that matches.

Trackbacks

  1. Five to Nine
  2. Green light, revisited « Five to Nine

Leave a Reply

