Skip to content

On the small screen

April 2, 2009

Because everything is funnier on TV, and I’m a sucker for parenting humor, I’m looking forward to ABC’s latest mom-targeted sitcom In the Motherhood, which premiered last week and airs tonight at 8 (CST).

They drew me in with an ad/preview featuring Cheryl Hines’ character (any new sitcom with a veteran of Curb Your Enthusiasm deserves at least one viewing, right?) commiserating with another woman about their less-than-perfect mothering: “We ran out of diapers two days ago, and I’ve been using paper towels and tape.”

I had many long chuckles at that line, even after a look-who’s-laughing moment when I realized that as a cloth diaperer by day, I’m pretty much doing the same thing, only with cotton and big blue saftey pins.

Like I said, it’s funnier on TV.

(E.T.A.: make that 7 p.m. If anyone actually read and was misguided by this, my apologies. I’ll be catching it online.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2009 11:54 am

    I tried to watch it last week, but it didn’t record correctly… so I missed the first episode. I recorded the second episode last night and I intend to watch it later today… I hope it’s good. It looks hilarious!

  2. April 3, 2009 4:23 pm

    I haven’t managed to catch the show, but the previews were kinda funny… I’ll have to check it out.

    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog, and the wonderful comments on my photo – I really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

