Skip to content

Grow a pear

April 6, 2009

This a new dream of mine. Unfortunately I’m not close to seeing it through, as the only pear tree in my yard is a pretty but fruitless ornamental.

growapear

My husband brought these home last week because he knows I love them. Unfortunately, I mostly love to look at them. I tend to leave them on the table or mantel until they’re past their prime and compost-ready.

But waste not, want not, right? This time I decided to find ways to use them. In our first act of the pear initiative, last week we had a salad with a balsamic-glazed grilled pear; the three above were destined for a weekend pear cake, recipe courtesy of Don’s grandmother (and, apparently, the Germans who settled in Texas hill country in the 1830s).

I probably still prefer the pears as you see them here. But it’s a start.

It’s Best Shot Monday at Tracey Clark’s.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2009 11:37 pm

    I love fruit still life! Nice shot!

  2. April 7, 2009 6:09 pm

    Great shot! I do the same thing with lemons. I love how they look on my table and by the time I go to use them they are past their prime. It drive my hubby crazy.

  3. April 7, 2009 9:16 pm

    Beautiful!

Trackbacks

  1. fleur-de-lis « Five to Nine

Leave a Reply

