Skip to content

staycationing

April 20, 2009

It was an early morning, big breakfast, cookie baking, misty and mild, Sunday drive, spring-is-everywhere kind of weekend.

lj omelet

I love to cook dinner and am usually the one at the stove at night. On workday mornings, D makes the coffee and sends me out the door with fruit or toast, and all week I look forward to weekend brunches.  Saturday, Jack and I played while D worked [okay, rocked] the omelet station.

It was damp but warm, and between bouts of drizzle I looked around at what’s springing up in the yard, where many new leaves are turning over. I almost didn’t see this little guy –

dsc_27891

– but the tulips were hard to miss. I’m dying to garden, but because our house will be under construction this summer, the yard will be under lumber and debris, and I haven’t planted anything.  I love being surprised each season by the remnants of the garden that was – the tulips, irises, daffodils, lilac, vinca – and even the wild, weedy things like wood violets, clover and phlox hold a little promise of the garden that will be.

tulip1

newleaf1 newleaf31
iris1 weeds1

Yesterday we took a ride on some country roads I grew up around but hadn’t traveled in awhile. We saw a lot of fence, pretty scenery, and the No. 12 school, a one-room, two-door schoolhouse, ca. 1895, that’s slightly smaller than the one I attended with 20 classmates.

theroad2

cc2

Here’s to long weekends that get us through long Mondays.


4 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan permalink
    April 20, 2009 9:50 pm

    spinning with joy 🙂

  2. Janell permalink
    April 21, 2009 4:10 am

    Oh my…I’m loving Arizona but your picture of the dirt road brought me home to Arkansas (tear). Absolutely beautiful.

    Love your blog.

  3. Alleen permalink
    April 21, 2009 4:53 pm

    Where were these skills in college D? I would have paid some serious cash to have a breakfast like that over the Brough omeletteers (although Sunday brunch was their best meal of the week, to be fair).

    L, I love all your pictures and am so glad y’all enjoyed a great weekend!

Trackbacks

  1. Have toddler, will travel « Five to Nine

Leave a Reply

