Skip to content

Just another magic Monday

April 21, 2009

Long weekends work wonders in getting me through long Mondays, but so does my job, which often departs from the norm.

Lately it’s a real variety show, as we’re planning some not-your-ordinary electives for our students to take this summer. Yesterday we interviewed a magician, who taught us the french drop, a slight-of-hand maneuver used in coin tricks, among others. (I’d planned to ask him to start with a simple disappearing act, offering myself as a volunteer, or to offer one of my colleagues to be sliced into thirds, but I wasn’t sure he’d know I was joking, and we don’t expect him to give away trade secrets of that magnitude. )

Later this week we’ll be interviewing jugglers (yes, that recent post on the subject was more than metaphorical).

One Comment leave one →
  1. sister permalink
    April 22, 2009 11:23 am

    This post reminds me of an argument David and I had recently about that song, which I thought said “Magic,” whereas he heard “Tragic” — a Google search informed us that the real lyric is “Manic Monday”…

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

