Skip to content

Rollaway

May 4, 2009

Recently, as we sat in the car in the parking lot of a home improvement store assessing what supplies we needed for the hours-long stay inside, D gave a shout and suddenly bolted from the driver’s seat and took off across the pavement.

No, no one had fallen. There were no trees nearby for a cat to be stuck in, no fire. He had spotted a runaway shopping cart careening toward a nearby car. It was a close call, but he caught it in time.

Deep breaths, folks. Deep breaths.

dsc_2761

It’s because of everyday heroes like this one that your car might one day be saved from a paint-scratching encounter with a loose shopping cart. (I’d also like to take this opportunity to thank you, friends, for returning your shopping carts to their appropriate cages and making our parking lots safer from dents and dings.)

And it’s because of experiences like this that I’m more than happy with my scratched-up old late-90s car, with its baked-on bugs and excessive hail damage: When a shopping cart rolls my way, I just watch and wait for the crash.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2009 10:16 pm

    A hometown hero for sure!! Seriously, can I just tell you how much it irks me when people don’t return their carts? Especially when I go to great lengths to return the carts, even with my two little ones in tow. So yes, I think your hubs is a saint. 🙂

  2. May 5, 2009 11:50 am

    Don is a savior!…

  3. May 5, 2009 2:51 pm

    =) What a good guy! Glad for my (now) old car, too.

  4. Alleen permalink
    May 5, 2009 9:18 pm

    In case anyone was unsure in light of the last post, this one solidifies it – Don is the best!

Leave a Reply

