Skip to content

No complaints

June 27, 2009
  • Some days I think of it as Mary Poppins’ bottomless carpet bag, and on many others I feel like it’s an over-full suitcase with a struggling zipper, but our living room arrangement is holding strong.
  • This is in part thanks to Jack, who last week brought back the good night’s sleep. He goes to bed and stays there: I like that in a (14-month old!) baby. Goodbye, 4 a.m.
  • Last weekend during a concert at our local ballpark, I talked with an old friend who’s building a house about 10 miles from us – along with a pond he’s digging as a water source. As a kid, I liked the way the tadpoles swam out of our faucet and landed with the dishes, but I didn’t love hauling water from the spring.  Now we have city water, and I can still get my fill of pond at my dad’s. When tomorrow hits 100 degrees, I just might.
  • At closing time today, I sent home 75 [mostly] happy campers, whom I count like blessings. They were 6th and 7th graders who came to spend a week on campus with us to learn and make new friends, and I think all of them did.  Next stop: high school students. (Thank you; I’ll need it.)
4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2009 11:36 am

    Hurray for a good night’s sleep!
    Thanks for the complaint-free updates on life. Good luck with the continued living room living and week with the high school kids. Hopefully it’ll be another week you can’t complain about! 🙂

  2. June 29, 2009 4:15 pm

    I like that in a child of ANY AGE!

  3. milkandmusic permalink
    June 29, 2009 6:57 pm

    Bottomless carpet bag, tadpoles, camper blessings. I love this post. Here’s to high schoolers! *clink.

Trackbacks

  1. good surprises « Five to Nine

Leave a Reply

