Skip to content

Outside In

July 10, 2009

So here’s the thing about camping out in the middle of a home improvement project, in the Ozarks, in the summer:

It really starts to look like camping.

We still have a roof and walls, but in several places in between, the boundaries between inside and out are blurring. (Okay, missing.) And in continuing to accommodate ourselves with things like lights, water and food, we’ve  inadvertently made the place inviting for a menagerie of winged, tailed, and six-legged  squatters.

DSC_2593

My least favorites are the brown house crickets that hide in my shoes — I only like good surprises — and can leap from the floor to the top of your head in a single bound.

When I think back to the state of nature our house was in when we first moved in and started working three years ago, though, I thank my lucky stars. At that point, we had some no-legged trespassers. Yep, the slithering, skin-sloughing variety. IN THE HOUSE. (Okay, the “house.”) I’m sure they’re scarier on a plane, but you get the idea.

I’ll stay here as long as we have indoor plumbing and snakes that stay outdoors. So far, so good.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2009 11:55 am

    Good luck!

  2. Alleen permalink
    July 10, 2009 1:42 pm

    You are a better woman than I. I hope Don appreciates you EVERY day!

    PS I still say hooray for progress and if this is what it takes to make it happen, bring. it. on.

  3. July 10, 2009 5:26 pm

    Oh my word–I hate those bouncy crickets –they look like have spider, half-cricket, right? And jump to high heaven? Those completely freak me out. So I am applauding you in your easy going endurance, from VERY far away. 🙂

  4. July 13, 2009 4:56 pm

    I am not to fond of the crawly, slithering critters either. We live in new construction that is built on an old horse farm and all the spiders feel like our house is their new house…I am talking black hairy spiders too. So far no snakes but we have found many of skins outside. Your a better woman than me to get the camera out, I love the shot!!

  5. July 13, 2009 6:53 pm

    Yikes, I don’t think we have those bouncy crickets here. In my house I mostly find earwigs. *shudder*

Trackbacks

  1. Fancy seeing me here! « Five to Nine
  2. Entering the forever phase « Five to Nine

Leave a Reply

