Skip to content

Stateside

September 4, 2009

My sister Rachel, who’s lived in Spain for several years, has landed back on this side of the Atlantic. She made it to New Jersey in time to squeeze into the rented minivan that D, Jack and I, our grandfather and aunt and uncle all took to the wedding last weekend.

DSC_0270

For Jack and his antics, this reunion of his mother with one great aunt and one Great Aunt amounted to triple the attention AND triple the threat. He was glad to have the audience; I was glad to have their help. And I was extra glad that Rachel managed to book the same flight we took home to Arkansas, where she’s visiting for a little while before she starts her big city job hunt.

The last time my sister was home for a labor day, it was no holiday weekend. She’d flown home from Madrid for the birth of my first child and her first nephew. She stayed home from the hospital (she’s a fainter) and was at our house when we finally showed up with him, all tiny and new and crying from having not been fed during his first half-hour in the car seat. She made chicken noodle soup, and my husband made grilled cheese, and that’s all I ate for at least the next three days.

We are glad she’s home again.

rj

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2009 6:23 pm

    That’s awesome that she is getting the chance to visit. Sounds like you guys are pretty close. My sister and I are very close. We both helped each other out with the coming home of the first child. My sister stayed a week and was such a big help, being the mom of 3 already I figured she knew what she was doing.

  2. September 5, 2009 7:52 pm

    Oh, that’s great. Sisters and aunts are THE best. Beautiful pictures from the wedding too!

  3. Janell permalink
    September 15, 2009 2:01 am

    Oh my goodness, the photo of you and Jack is absolutely lovely. 🙂

Leave a Reply

