Skip to content

For the person who really has everything

September 11, 2009

Two weeks ago, we took our baby on his first trip by plane. As I said before we took off, I was nervous. As some of you assured me, I needn’t have been. Jack sat quietly on my lap in the window seat and held his bottle, looked at the clouds, took  the tray table in and out of its upright and locked position, slept.

This left me to my usual in-flight entertainment with Biscoff and the SkyMall catalog. For anyone who hasn’t recently taken to the skies, I’ve assembled a list of the highlights.

Top 10 Reasons to Browse the SkyMall Catalog*

  1. Truck Antlers. I assume you already have a visual.
  2. Hammacher Schlemmer Marshmallow Shooter. It will sail a marshmallow 30 feet, and for some reason has a red LED light that other marshmallow shooters don’t have. OTHER marshmallow shooters?
  3. Tissue Box Hidden Camera. This “totally covert” surveillance device “…looks like an ordinary tissue box is actually recording your every move!” No, that’s not creepy at all.
  4. Basho the Sumo Wrestler Table.  Described as an “intricate sculpt with a wide stance.” And it’s made from designer resin!!
  5. Am I Adopted? Frame personifies your pet in the weirdest way yet.
  6. Garden sculptures menagerie. It’s hard to choose between the myriad options: meercats, hippos, a zebra, a big foot, a dinosaur, Big Foot, several key players from The Lord of the Rings. They’re sculpted in designer resin to look perfectly natural in your front yard.
  7. Your kitchen can have carnival style with SkyMall specialty appliances (popcorn cart, hot dog ferris wheel, snow cone maker, cotton candy spinner…). Consider side job as host of children’s birthday parties.
  8. Mademoiselle Floor Lamp. If your living room decor doesn’t yet include that memorable piece that will give your children come-to-life nightmares into young adulthood, this could be your answer.
  9. 6 & 12-card Auto Card Managers – George Costanza and his aching back will have nothing on you.
  10. The One Ring. For either $395 (gold-plated) or $650 (solid gold), who wouldn’t want a replica of a fictional ring that gradually and inevitably corrupts its wearer to an almost-evil madness?  Perfect for anniversaries.
*Disclaimer: These could also easily be used as reasons not to browse the SkyMall catalog. It’s a tough call.
5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2009 7:23 pm

    Hilarious!!! My dad has always wanted the “lift shoes” (some shoes for men that have a heel). There are definitely some interesting items in that SkyMall catalog.

    P.S. I am glad to hear that Jack did so well on the plane. That is awesome!
    P.P.S. I am looking forward to seeing y’all Sunday at 4-5ish for dinner… We are going to have fun!

  2. Liz permalink
    September 11, 2009 10:30 pm

    I love Biscoff! They are my favorite thing about flying, and I am always disappointed when I don’t get them. I can never remember which airline serves them. If you’ll remind me, I’ll make a point of always flying with them. 🙂

  3. September 14, 2009 3:48 pm

    Micheal and I love the Sky Mall magazine, we would never purchase anything, but love browsing.

  4. September 16, 2009 2:10 am

    oh, Skymall rules! Also works as kid entertainer … let’s find all the doggies, let’s look at the robots, and so on!

Trackbacks

  1. six thoughts on a theme « Five to Nine

Leave a Reply

