Skip to content

Ups and downs

September 14, 2009

On Friday night, my weekend was shaping up to look a lot like this:

DSC_0256C

Jack and I were feeling under the weather. D, who had been in San Antonio since Wednesday, was having trouble getting back because of rainy weather that would also complicate our plans to work on our new siding (caulking and painting are both on our DIY list for The Project) and keep us stuck in our two-room house all weekend.

But: My husband made it home, albeit just before 3 a.m. on Saturday, and was still up a short five hours later to drink the coffee I’d brewed and climb up the scaffolding with his father, our volunteer help for the day, to work in the dry places under the  eaves. My mother-in-law caught up with Jack. I made BLTs for everybody and felt useful. At quitting time, we went next door for burgers (inside) and my sister’s until-the-holidays sendoff. Ours was at least a spirited sluggishness.

Then we went home, where in the damp and the dark I realized I’d forgotten to dry our only set of sheets [left unpacked], which I’d washed at my mother’s. I missed my washing machine, and extra sets of dishes and linens.

But: D found an extra blanket and made the bed, and stuffed each pillow into a cotton T shirt.

On Sunday the sun still didn’t resurface, and we had to rain check a dinner+ play date with our friends, but we packed some more and drank hot tea and listened to damp-weather music and read books about how to tile a shower and a tub surround (both distant boxes to check off our DIY list), and I thought myself lucky to have a guy who matched my glum and sniffly can nothing go right? attitude with calm energy and ingenuity.

It’s made my dripping, gray day less bleak. It’s not raining on my parade (I’m not having a parade, anyway), and maybe it’s watering the trees for a bright-colored autumn. Or extending the summer green a little – keeping the grass growing higher, the goldenrod more golden.

DSC_00912C

DSC_00492C

DSC_00122C

DSC_00362C

It’s Best Shot Monday at Tracey Clark‘s.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan permalink
    September 14, 2009 9:30 pm

    xoxox

  2. September 14, 2009 11:08 pm

    the flora shots are lovely, but i really adore the first one :)!

  3. September 15, 2009 12:04 am

    Well… we definitely missed seeing y’all and having our playdate!!! I hope y’all are feeling better!

    I hope we are still on for Friday… do we want to do dinner or go to a comedy show at the UARK or do both? Think about it!… I’ll talk with you soon!

  4. September 15, 2009 1:02 am

    funny…your first pic looks like what we’ve got going on here…your others are lovely 🙂

  5. September 15, 2009 1:14 pm

    My goodness, the difference between your first photo and the others! I love it. I hope he and you are feeling better.

  6. September 16, 2009 6:27 am

    Love the capture.

    Mike
    http://www.mikeleonen.com
    Twitter: AboutParenting

  7. September 18, 2009 1:28 am

    You have a pretty crafty husband. Stuffing the pillows into t-shirts, neat idea. My husband would have just slept on the bare pillow. We have also have had a lot of ran and can not wait for it to dry out. The worse part here is the insects population is at an all time high from the rain.

Leave a Reply

