Skip to content

Early birds and all that

October 26, 2009

Occasionally I fall in love again with where we live. Where I’ve almost always lived.

This happened early Saturday morning, when we were headed out of town for the day and in a hurry. We drove south along the ridges of the Boston Mountains, over low valleys full of fog, just after the sun showed up.  (It’s a scenic byway for a reason.) It was almost a shame to keep moving, and I said so. I said I wanted to come back the next day, to see it at 0 mph and not through the car window.

Don heard me. On Sunday morning, he had already been outside painting the house for awhile in the near-dark when Jack and I got up at 7:30. He took a break to come inside ask if we were ready for an early-morning date.

DSC_01732

We were.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Alleen permalink
    October 26, 2009 8:14 pm

    THIS is the time of year that makes me miss Arkansas the most, namely because of scenery like that! So glad y’all are enjoying it together!

  2. October 26, 2009 9:28 pm

    pretty… it sounds lovely!

  3. October 26, 2009 10:45 pm

    Oh that’s gorgeous. Totally worth getting up early for.

  4. October 27, 2009 1:31 pm

    Occasionally, I fall in love again with your blog…

  5. enibini permalink
    October 27, 2009 7:03 pm

    I love you guys! This was so beautiful. I’m not a morning person as you know but I would love to wake up early to see this….

  6. October 27, 2009 11:02 pm

    Wow, that is amazing. I could just sit there for hours and take it in. You captured it at the right time to, the Golden Hour. Beautiful!

  7. October 28, 2009 2:23 am

    I second Alleen’s comment! I always miss Arkansas so much this time of year.

Leave a comment