Skip to content

On a (not quite) fright night

November 5, 2009

hn

Once upon a time, I adored Halloween. Loved dressing up, loved being safely scared, loved the carnivals and the candy and all the orange. I was a butterfly, a cat, a gypsy, a witch, and I dressed up as a princess-ballerina at least twice. But soon I lost the knack for recognizable costumes. By the time I was in middle elementary, I wanted to dress up as characters from books neither popular or classic, or famous people my parents liked (Tammy Wynette was my dad’s idea, which involved a jean jacket and a short reprise of Stand By Your Man.). Luckily I lost interest in costumes requiring narration, and by high school, listening to a Smashing Pumpkins album was probably the extent of my Halloween spirit.

Trick-or-treating in our small rural town, where a neighbor might be two miles away, was a cumbersome event of door-to-door driving. In the best spots, we could walk from one house to one or two others while Mom’s van crawled alongside us with the sliding door open. By the time Rach and I had outgrown it, the family trick-or-treating migrated north to towns with actual neighborhoods, blocks and sidewalks.

Jack is a year-and-a-half old, which means Halloween — an Official Time to Show Off Your Baby — was this year still more for us more than him.
Except for the squishy rat miniatures at my office party, which were definitely more for fun for him.

On Saturday night, we knew better than to expect any knocks on our door, porch light or no.  But the little chicken suited up in his costume, courtesy of the BFF and her mother,  just the same and ran around outside acting the part.

DSC_30992

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2009 10:01 pm

    I can’t see you’re first photo. Boo. But I love the second one of Jack as Chicken. 🙂

  2. November 5, 2009 10:10 pm

    He looks oh so cute in his chicken costume! Hopefully I will see y’all later this evening at the bball game!

    – Melissa

Trackbacks

  1. just treats « Five to Nine

Leave a Reply

