Skip to content

weekends without walls

November 6, 2009

If he spoke English, Jack would tell you that outside is where it’s at.

jack2

It’s where we will be for the next two days (the waking hours part).

Jack is so desperate to go outside and stay there that I can’t imagine the banishments to the backyard that I’m sure are in his future. The ones in my past always started with  “I’m bored” whines and inevitably led to locked doors and orders to GO OUTSIDE AND PLAY.  Right now we have to lock him in.

Rainy days are not easy.

When I was little, rainy days meant chocolate-chip cookies. I continue to live by that tradition, which I now recognize as one of my parents’ more universally pleasant coping mechanisms. But Jack is not old enough for cookie-baking. And luckily, the weekend forecast is sunny and warm.

DSC_01602

Not bad for November, which is scooting dangerously close to the season during which I like to hibernate. If he were old enough, that would spell three months of cookies. As it is, I’m afraid I’ll just freeze while he frolics and plays, heedless of the wind and weather.

Reason no. 4,059 that it’s a good thing we live in Arkansas: We may get sheets of ice instead of blankets of snow, but our winters are dotted with out-of-nowhere 60-degree days.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2009 10:38 pm

    Those are some super cute pictures!!!

    As a side note: wouldn’t you know it that Hayden is currently napping?!? He hasn’t taken a nap in 2 months and on the day I post about his lack of napping… he naps. Oh, and I had a great time hanging out with y’all last night too!… we will have to do it again soon!!!

  2. November 6, 2009 10:42 pm

    I confess I had no idea Arkansas was so beautiful. Enjoy your outdoor time with your budding outdoorsman!

  3. Elizabeth permalink
    November 7, 2009 1:20 pm

    Beautiful pictures, L! And Jack will speak English soon. 🙂

  4. November 9, 2009 4:26 pm

    We even had those 60-day degrees way up here this weekend – absolutely blissful!

Leave a Reply

