Skip to content

bath and beyond

November 10, 2009

Jack got to spend all weekend outside, as planned, with more leaves and dirt and sawdust than even he knew what to do with.

Lots of baths were in order.

bathfun

Luckily, Jack’s chilly (read: absolutely traumatized) response to the ocean does not apply to water in general, so he was okay with it. In fact, and much to my relief, he loves it.

Of course, in the tub, the water doesn’t meet the horizon. Nor does it rush toward him, or crash on him. His feet don’t sink into the bathtub. If the water is choppy, it’s because he’s chopping it.

(None of these points are any good in a debate with my dad, who believes there is something a little weird about a kid who doesn’t love the ocean, and says so if it comes up. My people tell it like they think it is.)

Not that I’ve thought a lot about this, of course. I’ve spent hardly any time wondering when we should give the beach another go, or hoping that he’ll love to swim as much as I do, or remembering how, when pregnant with him, I splashed with the dishes and took long baths and showers hoping that he was hearing, loving and looking forward to the water. And it isn’t like I’ve told and retold the story of his introduction to the beach – how he covered his ears and hid his face, and how by the second day he recognized enough through the windshield and windows to cling to the arms of his car seat, unwilling to come out without a fight.

Nope. It rarely even crosses my mind.

When he’s older and hears how early he was branded with a fear of water, I’ll sympathize. I’ve earned a reputation for being afraid of heights, when really I’m just afraid of ladders.

For now, we’ll stick with the bodies of water he isn’t afraid of – a tubful – and be glad.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan permalink
    November 13, 2009 5:29 pm

    How bout that smile. What a guy. I bet the fear-o-the-ocean will be short lived. What a difference a year makes when you’re one. ps – always look forward to a new post on five to nine, yo 🙂

  2. November 17, 2009 9:18 pm

    I love his smile. He will come around to the ocean. My oldest did not like the beach his first time either and the second time he needed a while to warm up. This last season it only took him a few minute to warm up and had a great time.

  3. November 18, 2009 11:28 pm

    This picture is ADORABLE! I don’t know how I missed the post… but SO cute!

Trackbacks

  1. Water logging « Five to Nine

Leave a Reply

