Skip to content

Fancy seeing me here!

December 8, 2009

I haven’t been around these parts – cyberspace – much lately. Instead, I’ve been busy moving out of our home and into my mother’s; baking pies and roasting big birds; tearing down walls and taking names; worrying about the economy, which has caught up with my line of work; chasing Jack, whose tolerance of below-freezing temperatures has no bounds; and wondering how the heck it came to be December already.

Suddenly it’s countdown time, with only-so-many days before Chanukah, Christmas, a new year and a new[old] home. It is dizzying, humbling and all very well. Or at least pretty well. In any case, I’m not complaining.

I like staying at my mom’s house, and not only because it’s less like camping than the last six months at our house were.  The sanity of three adults is at stake, and so far we all remain mentally intact. Because we moved in just before Thanksgiving, and hope to move out not too far into the new year, I’m thinking of this time as an extended holiday season. So far, so good.

At this time two years ago, we’d been living in our little house full-time for only a few months. We were fresh out of graduate school, with new jobs, a new pregnancy, and a new urgency for home renovation. Knowing that an addition wasn’t in our immediate plans, we polished up what we had.

Last week, we took it back. Even the mirrored window, which will become the threshold between the new and the old parts of our home.

It isn’t exactly your usual before-and-after progression. But once again in our case, destruction propels progress.

And how have you been?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2009 12:04 am

    I haven’t been through a big construction project but when Francesco was 6 month – 1 year old we lived with my parents and then Michael’s. 3 months at each while waiting for our house to be built. As nice as it was being home, it was wonderful getting our own place. I hated feeling like I was living out of a suitcase.

  2. December 9, 2009 1:06 pm

    Hey there! I am glad you are still alive!!! I sent you an email earlier this week about getting together… let me know if you want to do that.

    So stuff is going well at your mom’s? That is good to hear. Well, I’ll talk with you soon!

Trackbacks

  1. plumb lazy / plum crazy « Five to Nine

Leave a Reply

