Skip to content

Licking the spoon

December 10, 2009

What do you think: Does it qualify as a milestone?

Maybe when he graduates to cookie dough. But some things just make him look more boy than baby, and for me, coming home to find Jack licking mashed potatoes off of the mixing beaters was one of those things.

I remember wanting to lick the spoon. I had four siblings, which meant that baking in our house took more at least two spoons in addition to the beaters. (The fight over the bowl was a free-for-all.)

For now, there’s no competition. My husband is happy to wait for mashed potatoes to land on his plate; Jack is only allowed the savory spoons.

I get my metaphoric fill of licking the spoon by using it. When I was little, it was a treat to get a beater of batter, or a pinch of dough, or a spoonful of my dad’s barbecue sauce. We sneaked carrot sticks, cucumber slices destined for the salad and raw potato wedges destined for deep-frying.

Now, on most nights, I’m the one assembling the ingredients and standing at the stove, and I love it. My husband grabs at the cutting board, or tastes the sauce. Jack is a champion stirrer. And my treat is in the cooking.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2009 3:41 pm

    That’s definitely a milestone, and he really looks like a little boy now!

  2. December 11, 2009 7:25 pm

    That is so sweet! Loved this post!

    My day too begins when I get home from work – there is nothing better than walking in my house, getting in my pajamas asap, and making dinner for my family! 😀

    Have a wonderful weekend!

  3. Sister permalink
    December 11, 2009 9:55 pm

    When I’m home for the holidays, I’m going to teach him to share. 🙂

  4. December 14, 2009 7:40 pm

    Oh yes, most DEFINITELY a milestone. Thoroughly cute, that boy of yours!

Leave a Reply

