Skip to content

five degrees

January 8, 2010

are not enough. Arkansas isn’t fit for cold like this!

Hibernation is looking pretty good right now.

So is my husband, who came home last night with some very practical, very thick put-these-in-the-car-just-in-case gloves. And a double-thick hat, and a new tire gauge (I really have to stop using them to entertain Jack).

And – maybe my favorite – a new ice scraper. On one workday last winter, I found my parking lot so coated in ice and snow that it took me awhile to decide which car-shaped bulk of white. Though I don’t exactly recommend using cd cases for deicing, I was relieved that day to be technologically old school. All those sharp plastic rectangles were handy, and what good would an iPod have done me?

Warm wishes, literally.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2010 7:31 pm

    6° was our low.

    Coming home last night, I wasn’t warm until I got home. It was 12° and windy.

    My truck has an engine coolant heater that I can plug in. This is the first time I’ve used it. Unfortunately, there’s no place to plug it in at work and most of the time when I get off late at night.

    It’s going to warm up…, eventually.

  2. January 8, 2010 8:34 pm

    I hear ya, we had snow this morning. I decided to take a walk at lunch and I am still thawing out. What happened to global warming? How long before spring?

Leave a Reply

