Skip to content

where everybody knows your name

January 11, 2010

When I was 11 and visiting my family in New Jersey during summer break, I mailed a postcard to my best friend:

Mandy Henson
Sunset Road
Winslow, AR 72959

and she got it.

Last month we received a holiday card from our mason, who sent it to us without a street address.

(A last name and a zip code go a long way in a town of three hundred-something.)

Over the weekend I went looking for a package that was supposed to have been delivered. I walked to my house to check the doorstep, the porch and the gate. My husband checked the front seat of his truck, where our mailman – who is also our mayor – sometimes leaves packages on rainy days.

Logically, back at my mother’s, it had arrived. “It was probably too big to fit in your mailbox,” she said.

I love to get the mail. (Who doesn’t?) On Saturdays I like to make it a walk with Jack, who would happily spend the afternoon opening and closing mailbox lid and lifting and lowering its flag.

Last month it was extra delightful, thanks to the still-strong tradition of holiday cards. This year I resolve to make more trips to the mailbox. (Even if my friends don’t thank me, it sounds like the Postal Service will.)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2010 2:06 am

    I love that your mailman is also the mayor! That is awesome!

    Gotta love the small town vibe… helps you get your mail when it isn’t addressed properly.

    Our mail-lady knows us too… well not really. She has been our mail person for about 8 years now (since we lived at the Uark).

    She remembers us from there… and even like two years after we moved here I remember that she delivered a letter that had been addressed to our old Uark address… but she knew that it was intended for us.

    I’m going to miss her (and that) whenever we move.

  2. crnnoel permalink
    January 12, 2010 12:44 pm

    There is something so special about getting mail… the endless possibilities of what could be in the mailbox 🙂
    (thank you for commenting over on my site!)

  3. Sister permalink
    January 13, 2010 7:23 pm

    I once sent a post card from Spain to the dentist in West Fork with a street name but no number, and only the first two numbers of the zip code. I was amazed to see it hanging on the bulletin board the next time I went in…

  4. farmergal permalink
    January 20, 2010 5:53 pm

    We have a rural mailbox at the end of the lane, and I have always considered it a magical place. I seldom see the mail person, so it seems that my mail just appears out of nowhere. Who knows what might show up in that little box? With all of the new technology, that little house with the red flag is still my connection to the past. Farmergal

Leave a Reply

