Skip to content

and on with the new.

January 15, 2010

I feel the need to spend a little time with each new year before I’m ready, officially, to get on with it. So I make resolutions when the year is still young, if not quite new. I’m never ready to make them all up on the  first date, so I wait until – what’s today? – about the fifteenth.

Another way of looking at it is that I’m just late.

I’ve already declared 2010 my year for flea market finds and mail the old-fashioned way. But I’m also resolving to move more and shake more. (I mean that in many of the ways you’ll imagine. And perhaps more.)

When it comes to deliberate spending: more time, less money.

When it comes to our home construction zone, I’ll wait gracefully and be glad.

When it comes to my husband, I’ve promised to get him up and running. Literally, as marathons are once again in his future. (He and running have had an on-again, off-again thing for several years now.)

I would resolve to take up running myself, but it’s no use. I used to feel bad about being a terrible runner, with my uncontrolled breathing and lack of stamina. But then I got pregnant and attended Lamaze classes, where I was informed that giving birth takes about the same volume of energy that it takes to run a marathon. After an epidural-free delivery of an eight-and-a-half-pound Jack, would I put that comparison to the test? Not on your life. Even in hindsight labor looks a lot better than a 26-mile run, which for me would probably end in a hernia. At best.

When it comes to Jack, there’s no need for buckling down. (Okay, except for maybe in the business of haircuts.) We’ll just keep 0n playing and dancing and singing and hammering and expanding our repertoire of animal imitations. The pig is his favorite. (This little pig is mine.)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2010 5:16 pm

    I am with you, after going into labor twice who needs a marathon!
    I love his face, what a cute piggy!
    I have yet to make my new year (resolutions) goals. I haven’t quite decided, or I am just a great procrastinator.

  2. January 17, 2010 9:20 pm

    Oh my yes – I would gladly give birth over running a marathon. The prize is better at any rate, and I trust my body more to deliver a baby than to deliver me to a finish line. 🙂

    That little piggy of yours is too adorable.

  3. January 22, 2010 11:25 pm

    I feel the same way about the start of a new year, and running. I definitely have to sort of ease into the former, and I really don’t enjoy the latter, whether I ease into it or not! Good luck to your hubby, though!

Leave a Reply

