Skip to content

Groundhog Day is not like the movies.

February 3, 2010

On Saturday I watched Groundhog Day with my mother-in-law.

(Snowed in with cable TV, remember? We also baked a cake. Our husbands were out shoveling the walk. I was happy to be one of the wives, watching that silly movie. Jack ran in every few minutes for the Sonny and Cher alarm. )

Yesterday it really was Groundhog Day, but this morning I woke up to Wednesday.

I don’t want to live in yesterday forever, but I would have liked to give it one more shot. It was my bff’s birthday, which we observe – like snowdays – as a major holiday. I did not get her present to her on time.

Then, last night, I decided to cut Jack’s hair. We could use a do-over.

Also, I heard that Punxsutawney Phil foresees six more weeks of winter, so I think he could use one, too.

Otherwise I would like a second opinion.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2010 2:31 am

    =)

  2. February 4, 2010 3:23 pm

    I’m still trying to find a way to stop time. I obsess about it, in fact. I play back the perfect days in my mind and try to recreate them on weekends and snowdays and days when I know I can relinquish my daily duties and just “be.” But it never works. I have come to learn that the perfect day unfolds all on its own and it is my job just to be ready for it, to recognize it, to help my family to see it.

    However, I don’t think I will ever ever ever stop daydreaming about pressing pause and breathing in stillness. Sigh, I clearly need a vacation.

  3. February 7, 2010 4:14 am

    Oh, I love that silly movie. And days when you’re snowed in – with family (specifically husbands to shovel snow and start fires.)

  4. February 7, 2010 2:28 pm

    I could use a few do over days too. I am also thinking Phil should get a do over. He said six more weeks of winter and them we got 25 inches of snow yesterday. It may take us six weeks to dig out (LOL)!

Leave a Reply

