Skip to content

Valentine’s by default

February 17, 2010

My son enjoys drawing. More specifically, he enjoys watching us draw his favorite things on demand. Because of him I can sketch hammers, elephants, various shapes, the numeral 5 and the letters of his name so fast you’d think my life depended on it.

(Sometimes I feel like it does.)

One night not long ago, I stood at the stove making dinner while D entertained Jack with a pencil and a paper in the next room. He drew dog after dog after dog. Probably a half an hour of dogs. I thought, Wow. That guy I married is a good dog-drawer. Later, when I said something sweet about it, he explained that the many encores Jack had demanded were really for clarity.

“I really cannot draw dogs very well,” he said.  “I am going to have to practice. Jack was confused.”

Over the weekend, Jack developed a timely new interest in hearts, which as far as I know are impossible to get wrong. It had everything to do with his Lois Ehlert books, Color Zoo and Color Farm, in which hearts are key facial features in a monkey, an ox, a goose and a deer. It nothing to do with Valentines, which we did not make because all of our nonessentials are hibernating in a metal storage container next door.

I hadn’t thought of us as celebrating Valentine’s Day, but on Friday we had a date with some friends who are newly in love, which qualifies. On Sunday I got up and read Modern Love in the New York Times, as usual; then we had a date with a date with our cabinetmaker, which counts because I fully intend to fall head over heels for my new kitchen. Drawing hearts for Jack all afternoon made it official. It was a love-ly weekend. I hope yours was, too.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2010 4:01 pm

    Very sweet! It sounds like you had a great weekend! Are you ready for our dinner this Saturday? I hope so!

  2. February 17, 2010 5:00 pm

    I’ve been lurking (what a creepy phrase! More like, “really enjoying reading about”) your family from afar, and thought I would jump in and say hi! Thanks for the ‘lovely’ post! 🙂

  3. February 17, 2010 7:38 pm

    I love the idea of inadvertently embracing the spirit of Valentine’s Day. I’ve never been that into the Hallmark version of the holiday, but have no problem celebrating the random acts of love in all of our lives.

    (We also love those Lois Ehlert books you mentioned; the geometric nature of the creatures in those books often informs my own distinctly inartistic drawings of animals.)

  4. Sister permalink
    February 17, 2010 10:29 pm

    I love it. So very Don.

  5. February 19, 2010 12:33 am

    The sweetest moments are the most simple. Drawing hearts is a lovely way to spend your day!

  6. February 19, 2010 4:26 am

    I adore that Jack wants you to draw various shapes and pictures for him. Does it not make you wonder what this fascination will turn into? Will he be an artist? Or is it just a phase?

    Kids rock. They are quirky and cute and full of so much life that I have a hard time wrapping my arms around it all.

    Happy Love-ly Day!

    Sarah

  7. February 19, 2010 1:59 pm

    How simply sweet.

    Nell

Leave a Reply

