Skip to content

Full house

March 1, 2010

Over the weekend we drove to Texas and back with D’s brother and parents in a big rental. Jack, sitting between his parents in the middle seat and enjoying a prime view of the trucks in neighboring lanes, was happy all the way to his great-grandmother’s house.

Everyone calls her Memaw. At her house we all stand around laughing, eating and feeling like family. (Memaw has a great sense of humor and a stern sense of kinship.) Her house has a wide backyard perfect for football, a house full of soft, often reclinable furniture, and a toy chest she says she’s been keeping up with for 50 years.

Time spent there is measured in food. Our stay in Red Oak, Texas was two days, two cakes and two pies long. And that doesn’t include the cupcakes or bread pudding we ate in celebration of a cousin’s lovely wedding.

Memaw makes meals, too, but treats are the family favorite. She raised four big boys and talks about spending long-ago Saturdays filling her shopping cart until it was almost too heavy to push. Her sons talk about the pantry shelves stocked with cakes and pies and streudel that fueled them to college football.

When I first went with D to Texas to meet her, Memaw baked a strawberry cake that I’ll never forget. For several years at Thanksgiving and Christmas I heard about her buttermilk pie but never saw one — a number of her grandsons do their part to keep it legendary.

This weekend there were two of those, plus a pear cake and a chocolate sheet cake. Back at home, tonight after work my husband made cookies – the same recipe he used to send a batch to Texas last Christmas (but not the same one his brother used). I did an exercise video, while Jack lay down on the floor and said “cake.”

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2010 2:27 pm

    What a lovely sentiment, “Time spent there is measured in food”. Love it!

  2. March 3, 2010 1:40 am

    I agree, food is love. For sure. And honey, I think damn near any Texan calls their grandma “Meemaw!” 🙂 That, and her beautiful face, made me smile. She’s radiant.

  3. March 3, 2010 1:42 am

    Wait! Just realized that it is great-Grandma! Yeow! She’s still spry lookin’ for G.G. status! We called grandma’s Meemaw, but nobody lived long enough for great-Grandma status in my family? Maybe you should call her Queen Meemaw? 🙂

  4. March 3, 2010 1:57 am

    A lovely post, and one that makes me sad that neither Husband nor I has any grandparents still with us. An odd thought that our parents are the oldest living generation in our family. Are we really that old.

    And I’m with you, Kitch, and Amelia: food is love.

  5. March 7, 2010 5:57 pm

    Love and time measured in food…yes! It is one of the things I am keenly aware of and also very insecure of. Meals in my home have not yet reached true comfort level. Of course, I know it will be easier as the children get older. I will have more opportunity to really cook, instead of throwing something together while the boys run rampant in my home, crawling between my legs and dueling in the next room. I hope that I can create lasting memories of comfort for them in the meals and sweets that I prepare (someday…).

Trackbacks

  1. Don’t ask me. « Five to Nine

Leave a Reply

