Skip to content

Can I get a warmup?

March 4, 2010

I don’t know about you, but we need some warmer weather to come marching in. The first daffodil bloomed yesterday, and the crocuses were up this morning, but the fields were frosted and we had only a few warm hours.

I need to put my boots and coats and heavy sweaters away so that I have time to miss them in time for November. We need to put up drywall, and I could stand to do it without a dozen rented kerosene heaters. But most importantly, MY SON NEEDS TO GO OUTSIDE.

He has been standing at the door gazing at Outside. He’s been partial to stories that happen there, animals that live there, words – tree, bird, wind – that belong there. He’s been laughing in his sleep, and I imagine it’s because he’s dreaming of Outside.

He wants to go to there.

I remember stir-crazy afternoons when the kitchen was guarded by my mom, who could be counted on to say “You’re not hungry, you’re bored.” And now I am that mother, and my son – several years to0 soon, in my opinion – is that child. Given the run of the kitchen, he would eat half a loaf of bread, a half pound of grapes, a banana, a pear, a plum, yogurt, a cheese sandwich, an egg, a chicken leg, a bowl of cereal and a fistful of pickles all in one afternoon of indoor play and snack breaks.

The other day I came home to find him playing on his little metal slide, which my kind/desperate mother had dragged inside. Short of building an indoor sandbox or driving one of the cars into the living room, I don’t think we’re going to top that.

And it isn’t only Jack. On cold, short days the adults end up solving too many Wheel of Fortune puzzles, half-watching too much prime time (D, last night: “Is it just me, or is that Paul Reubens?” It was just him.).

We need to take this outside.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Elizabeth permalink
    March 4, 2010 7:51 pm

    I want to go to there, too. 🙂

  2. March 4, 2010 9:22 pm

    Today is pretty nice! And tomorrow should be lovely too! I agree though… it has definitely been chilly!!!

  3. March 5, 2010 1:00 am

    So desperate to get outside here as well…. chomping at the bit!
    Bring on spring!

  4. March 6, 2010 4:28 pm

    Today is going to be 50 degrees and my boys are spending the day outside as we speak.

  5. March 7, 2010 6:00 pm

    Here, here. These boys and their fists and feet need to run in the mud and make a mess of the outdoor toys. They need to tromp through streams again and fall exhausted into bed each night. The season is turning and this is the time I get truly impatient. I know it’s not far away, and yet I just can’t seem to wait another month. I’m pretty sure I’m just going to be cranky for all of March.

Leave a Reply

