Skip to content

Spring training

March 6, 2010

When I left work early on Friday, the parking lot was half-empty. The lines at the grocery were Labor Day long, but I overheard no mumbled complaints. A collective spring in our step, perhaps? It was sunny and almost 70 degrees.

Warm enough for short sleeves, a trip to the park, a neighbor’s front-yard birthday party, windows open, clothes drying on the line, a new pot of pansies, my son’s near-breathless delight at being on the other side of the door. He was so ready to abandon walls and ceilings that he willingly left a helium-filled balloon and his pacifier behind.

I said to myself YES. We will take this day. It’s what my aunt Cindy, a champion of enthusiasm and nice weather, would have said.

We’re only a week away from losing an hour and gaining what feels to me like a lifetime of regained light and energy. I love to spring forward. If I didn’t have a job, I’d have changed the clocks already.

Tired as I am of the bleak midwinter and its short days, I appreciate having something to bounce back from, plenty to be eager about. The start of a new season is like nature’s charging station.

Today I looked at our house and felt more excited than defeated. I was hardly bothered when the wasps caught spring fever, too, or when the ants returned from wherever it is they winter and decided to converge on my wine glass. I got up early and stayed up late.

This may be only a preview, but spring is in the air. My welcome mat is out.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2010 1:12 pm

    Leslie, you’ve got such a clever “voice”, a lovely writing style. I think that every time I read your posts, but I figured I’d say it here for once.
    I’m with you on the eagerness for spring. But after such a mild winter in Maine, I’m afraid to put the welcome mat out too early, lest we get the winter we deserved in April.

  2. March 7, 2010 2:46 pm

    I’m with Jo, Leslie: I always enjoy reading your beautifully written posts.

    We’re previewing spring here too, but for us that means temperatures in the 40s (gasp!, we’re set to hit 50 tomorrow. Woohoo!). We’ve had the snowiest winter in recent memory and I feel the pull of spring even more viscerally than usual.

    Enjoy your pansies and your clothesline-fresh clothes. I’ll be thinking of them and looking forward to them here as well.

  3. March 7, 2010 6:05 pm

    Totally with you, Leslie. Wrote my own Springtime post yesterday about it. I need this weather, my boys need it, the cycle of my emotions need it…

  4. March 8, 2010 1:33 am

    What a lovely post for a lovely spring day! 🙂 And I laughed about the change in time… because pre-kids, I hated it. Losing an hour? Yee gads!! Hated it. But now? I’ll take the extra hour of daylight over an hour of sleep any day.

Leave a Reply

