Skip to content

good surprises

March 18, 2010

Time for another edition of no complaints:

  • My husband, who on workdays is usually in his office 70 miles from mine, showed up yesterday for an impromptu lunch date.
  • My son, who until recently was sticking with animal noises, finally started speaking more English. He surprised us last weekend with “a bus,” “I do,” “sorry,” “soup,” and, inexplicably, a lot of the alphabet. He spent yesterday on “dent.” (I would call that inexplicable, too, but some readers here have already seen our cars.)
  • My house is getting its endoskeleton! Thanks to you, Sheetrock, I can no longer see its circulatory system. Seeing my home in its skivvies was fun for awhile, but I think I’m ready to move on. After a day-and-a-half with a friendly, fast-working crew, our walls are opaque.
  • My day is suddenly much longer than it was last week. I know it isn’t really, but it feels true. An hour of daylight with my son at the end of a Thursday makes it so much more than a workday.
  • Tomorrow is Friday (already!) and is forecasted to be a 70-degree day. (Saturday we might see a wintry mix, but since I’ve labeled this a no-complaints day, I’ll put that aside for now.)
6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2010 1:52 am

    Yay for Jack talking more! Now you won’t be as concerned about his speech at his 2-year check-up! Woop woop! And today was lovely and tomorrow will be do… silly weekend has to screw it up. But no complaints! See you soon!!!

  2. March 19, 2010 2:13 am

    Oh I love the “no complaints” post. I need to do something like this for myself. Yup. Indeedy. Because I need to see the BRIGHT side laid out there on the screen just waiting for me to hit publish and make it all the more REAL.

    Bah to the wintry mix. Hello to the endoskeleton!

    Spring is NEAR!

  3. March 19, 2010 1:33 pm

    Yeah Jack! Nicolo too is adding to his vocabulary. I totally agree that as hard as it has been to adjust to the time change I love the extra sun light, more time outdoors!

  4. March 20, 2010 2:14 am

    Love the idea of “no complaints”! Spring must have our little guys’ language budding along with the flowers. My son has started talking a lot more, too. Of course, I’m still his translator on most occasions, but I’ll take it. =>

  5. March 22, 2010 2:01 am

    Sunny skies, spring temperatures, and endoskeletons: no complaints indeed! Isn’t it amazing how the simple act of stopping to count our blessings makes us appreciate them all the more? Thanks for this lovely reminder to do so more often.

Trackbacks

  1. Security detail « Five to Nine

Leave a Reply

