Skip to content

feeling froggy

April 21, 2010

A tree frog took up residence on a houseplant (recovering from my husbands not-so-green thumb) we set out on the porch last week. It stayed for four days despite Jack’s frequent visits.

Last year, we had a frog fond of attaching itself to our glass storm door, just under the porch light (and many, many meals).

I grew up steps away from three ponds that every spring were loud with frogs and toads and crowded with their eggs, some of which we’d always relocate to a mason jar or fish bowl. I’ll look forward to reliving that with Jack in a year or two, when his idea of a long wait moves beyond 45 seconds.

If you’re young enough, even the life cycle of a frog feels like forever.

Not for me. I mean, wasn’t it just the other day that Jack was still a tadpole?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2010 7:58 pm

    I don’t know how, but I’ve grown into such a wimp. (How do these things happen?!) These days, frogs scare me, but when I was a little kid, I used to go tadpole hunting. I’m not sure how I would react to my daughter running to me with a frog in her hand but as long as it gives her joy, I guess I can deal with my own issues.

  2. April 22, 2010 1:11 am

    Neat picture of the frog! I like frogs!!!

  3. April 22, 2010 11:07 am

    I have to admit, I’m not fond of frogs. Actually, if I’m to really be honest, I have a phobia of them. I’m not exaggerating. But I adore your metaphor “wasn’t it just the other day that Jack was still a tadpole.” Despite my aversion, that really does conjure up a warm, fuzzy feeling.

  4. April 23, 2010 1:17 am

    We usually have ferns hanging in baskets on our porch. Frogs seem to love that location. Last week, before we left on a week of camping, there was at least one on each of the two baskets, serenading each other back and forth.

  5. April 23, 2010 2:07 am

    As always – amazing photos! My son’s best little friend had a toad living in his sandbox all last summer. VERY exciting.

Leave a Reply

