Skip to content

All of the above

April 23, 2010

a) I allowed my 2-year-old son to stay up until almost 10 p.m. (and allowed my husband to let me get away with it) so that I could watch The Good Wife uninterrupted by toddler bedtime.

b) An hour after a dinner of tortillas, beef, beans, tomatoes, cheese and avocado, no chips allowed, we said yes to Jack’s pleas for “pickles and meat?” – nine mini gherkins and two pieces of ham. In a preemptive strike against a salt-cured toddler, Ive hidden the capers and anchovy-stuffed olives.

c) At our house (the construction zone, not the one we’re staying in with my mother), I gave him a paint brush, a sample-size can of Valspar, and a scrap piece of drywall.  And at the end of the night, it was my husband who had painted his own hair.

d) Late for dinner and bath time, I let Jack eat a banana in the tub. Two birds is two birds, am I right?

e) After reading his first-choice bedtime story 14 times – 14 actual times – out of boredom I switched to a young adult chapter book that I loved when I was, say, 11. In my defense, there was an occasional illustration, and Jack loved and commented on the opening scene, which takes place on a train. He did not fall asleep until page 35. (35=157x, x being the first book.)

f) Yesterday when Jack picked up the hand weights, pointed at the Jillian Michaels DVD case and told me to “exercise,” I pretended not to hear, picked up the remote, and turned on the Wheel.

g) We ran out of diapers. Thanks to the accidental stash under the passenger seat of my car, we didn’t have to unfold the tarp to get through the night.

I could make it all the way to z, but you already know the answer.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2010 2:43 pm

    This is hilarious. My morning is so much better now. 🙂

  2. Sus permalink
    April 23, 2010 3:28 pm

    Two birds IS two birds. Well said 🙂

  3. April 23, 2010 4:47 pm

    What a great post, Leslie! I love The Good Wife and often watch it when one kid is down for a nap and the other is on the floor, rolling. (Thank you, On Demand!)

    It sounds like Jack is a pretty happy boy, and his parents are fortunately laid back enough to enjoy him and themselves!

  4. April 23, 2010 6:31 pm

    I love it. I need to be more laid back and do this more often – let my kid be a kid, and go with the flow. There’s so much more joy in the unexpected sometimes. Kudos to you!

  5. April 23, 2010 6:35 pm

    Great post! “Salt-cured toddler” – love it!

    And major points to you for reading the bedtime story 14 times! I can never read a story more than twice in a row.

  6. April 23, 2010 8:53 pm

    Perfect post! Loved it – especially bananas in the bathtub – we used to eat popsicles there, every single time!

  7. April 23, 2010 9:30 pm

    I love every bit of this post 🙂 Thank you for brightening my Friday afternoon!

  8. April 23, 2010 11:48 pm

    Leslie, this is hysterical. Witty. Funny. Happy. Simple. Sweet. I love it.

    I love the Good Wife. I love convincing yourself and your husband of bright ideas for your benefit alone. I love that kids are sometimes neater and simpler than adults. I love that you ignored Jillian and turned on the Wheel. I love that you found an accidental stash–if I weren’t able to bank on my absentminded, accidental stashes (of diapers and just about everything else non-perishable) I don’t know where I’d be as a mother…under a tarp probably.

  9. April 24, 2010 11:50 am

    My kids love olives too. If it weren’t for olives and frozen blueberries I often think they would go hungry.

  10. April 24, 2010 8:12 pm

    I love the banana in the bathtub almost as much as the salt-cured toddler. (my son will pour salt on the table and LICK IT UP. which i get because salt is delicious.)

  11. April 25, 2010 5:38 am

    Your mini gherkins are our pretzels! My son eats them by the bagful and asks for them before, during, and after every meal. And the fact that your husband was the one with painted hair? Well, I’m laughing so hard I just might go into labor. =>

  12. April 26, 2010 12:37 am

    Love this! The mini-stash under the seat in the car, that’s been our savior too on late nights. Unfortunately, I forgot to replenish it last time and got stuck with a soaked baby at the mall yesterday. You’d like that by number 3, I’d be on my game, but no such luck. 🙂

  13. April 26, 2010 2:55 pm

    14 times! You are a paragon of patience.

Trackbacks

  1. Eat, Blog, Love « Fluffy Bunnies

Leave a Reply

