Skip to content

a nice long drive

April 30, 2010

You know you’re too busy when a six-hour drive looks like a nice break.

I am, and it does. I am happily headed to Texas in the car with my husband, son and brother-in-law. We will take small highways and not be in a big hurry, and we will probably indulge in a drive-through. (Except Jack, who doesn’t yet know what he’s missing.)

Yesterday I took off early and ran errands with Jack, who will happily spend two hours in a Target. Outside of town on the way home, we passed many a person not in a big hurry and taking the long way. At the gas station, we waited behind a woman who’d driven the riding lawnmower to fill up. Afterward, we drove slowly for miles behind a man and a dog on a tractor. On the highway we drove around a couple of fourwheelers and a horse and rider.

So even when it comes to taking the long way home, it’s still all relative.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2010 8:14 pm

    Bon voyage [tipping my cowboy hat to you]! Hope you get to see some bluebonnets … and a Whataburger drive-thru, though I suppose Sonic would do in a pinch. =>

  2. May 1, 2010 1:22 am

    Have a wonderful trip 🙂 (and I know exactly what you mean… a long car ride sounds like a great break, even if it involves reaching back to divvy out snacks and juice cups!)

  3. May 2, 2010 11:51 am

    I do think that a drive in the car by myself feels like a break, but a long drive with a toddler? Not so fun. How does Jack do on these trips?

  4. May 2, 2010 5:37 pm

    I love the feeling of in between that a roadtrip gives. And we often try and take the long way through the small towns. And if you need to stretch your legs, check out a local greenhouse. Bathrooms, plenty to look at, and a thank you gift for the people you are staying with — PERFECT!

  5. May 3, 2010 3:18 pm

    Safe travels!! And I’m with you, I really enjoy a long drive. It seems the only time I really get to visit with my husband and slow it all down. Weird!

Leave a Reply

