Skip to content

Natural wonder

May 12, 2010

When I was little and our chickens weren’t yet nesting and roosting in a coop, I found a small clutch of bright white eggs snug in a nest of leaves out in the woods. It was absolute delight, a magical surprise even better than Easter.

It was similarly thrilling to find on a low branch a wren or robin’s nest full of tiny speckled eggs. Or to find pieces of a shell – either one that had hatched or, less fortunately, one that went overboard – on the ground, a clue to look up.

Today I get to re-live the delight of small natural wonders like these with my son, who last week found a wren’s egg that had fallen from a nest at our house and held it like he really did have the whole world in his hand.

Everything is new to a two-year-old, and that brings happiness to both of us.

Read more about happiness today at Momalom‘s Five for Ten.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2010 4:57 pm

    leslie, so many things to say. i just read your about me section and love your home (and the process of rebuilding it), all the space, and i had no idea the arkansas ozarks were so beautiful (i have never been, obviously!).
    furthermore, i love that you are writing about this experience your son is having in relation to yours when you were younger. i want those same things for my children!

  2. May 12, 2010 4:58 pm

    So cute! Bird eggs are SO pretty and cool!

  3. May 12, 2010 5:03 pm

    My parents live out in a country-like setting with a lot of trees so I got to experience this often. They also have awnings on their windows and what was even better was when the birds would make a nest in those, right next to the window. Loud, yes, but amazing to watch.

  4. May 12, 2010 7:51 pm

    First, hurray to Five for Ten for bringing me here. Second, reading this post made me SO EXCITED for the days ahead – the days when my four month old will be old enough to hold a wren’s egg in her hand, old enough to truly process the world around her. It’s great already, of course, seeing her look around and discover things, but I imagine it only gets better. Thanks for this. 🙂

  5. May 12, 2010 7:52 pm

    My kids often remind me of what happiness really is. I’m pretty luck to have them around. : )

  6. May 12, 2010 8:50 pm

    I am swooning over that chubby hand holding that fragile egg. I have one of these nests in a low bush off our deck. I will now be googling whether its a wren or a robin’s nest. I’m thinking from your picture that it’s a wren. I love those go out and gaze at the mama bird hunkered into her next. Just watching her fills me with joy.

  7. May 12, 2010 9:08 pm

    Don’t you just love how we get to rediscover everything with the kiddos? And we appreciate it so much more the second time, I think.

  8. May 12, 2010 9:38 pm

    …A clue to look up. This may be my favorite thing I’ve read all day.

    • May 13, 2010 7:12 pm

      Ditto. So simple. Sweet. And beautifully written. As always, Leslie. There is an overwhelming sense of calm and peace in your blog. I feel it as soon as the page loads.

      !!!

  9. May 12, 2010 11:36 pm

    I just melted. Seriously melted. With these words you hold ME in the palm of your hand. And yes, I humbled every day by the simplicty of the joy and wonder my children possess.

  10. May 12, 2010 11:39 pm

    I love experiencing things anew with my kids. (Mostly, with my son, but I see wonder in my daughter’s eyes and I think she will have a deep passion for living to the fullest.)

  11. May 12, 2010 11:41 pm

    Love the view they give us 🙂

  12. May 13, 2010 12:14 am

    Love the pic. And I love how children discover things for the first time and are so exuberant about it. Fresh perspective. Happiness indeed.

  13. May 13, 2010 1:29 am

    I love noticing EVERYTHING through my kids’ eyes. They give me a new appreciation for all I see. And help me see all that’s NEW again. Beautiful post. Thank you.

  14. May 13, 2010 2:00 am

    I remember finding my first birds nest and eggs too. What a wonderful moment to re-experience as a mama.

  15. May 13, 2010 2:01 am

    That tiny, gorgeous egg in that sweet, little hand is the perfect metaphor for having your whole life, a whole set of aspirations and dreams, in front of you. And that makes for a happy mama indeed. =>

  16. May 13, 2010 3:46 am

    “Everything is new to a two-year-old” and so we see things through their eyes, and it’s just wonderful. Seeing the world through new eyes has given me a brand new perspective, and it’s making me fall in love all over again with the simplest things.

    Suddenly, it’s all about the little things. And that’s where my happiness lies right now.

  17. May 13, 2010 7:44 pm

    Just lovely, Leslie. At this very moment, I am watching a robin work on his nest outside my office window. Big Boy and I check on his progress a few times every day. The happiness on his face? Magic. You’re absolutely right.

  18. May 14, 2010 2:27 am

    Lovely post. I also get so much joy from my son discovering new things. Everything is new to, and the way it lights up his face is just priceless. Thank you for the reminder that this is happiness.

Leave a Reply

