Skip to content

House lust

May 17, 2010

I want my house.

It occupies my dreams and populates my check register, Google search history, notebooks and receipts.

I don’t buy lunch or make a run to Target without considering the cost of ceiling fans, cabinet hardware, a gallon of paint, a flushmount light fixture or a doorknob set. Every $20 is 13.4 square feet of slate! I’m into discounts, free delivery, empty weekends, and the sound of power tools. A fast-moving carpenter quickens my pulse. I love to hear “I know a guy… .” An electrician friend? Electrifying.

I’m happy to see progress – this weekend saw new coats of paint, window jambs and sills, light switches that make something happen – but I want to move in. I love to see new colors and surfaces, but I’m ready to see furniture, lamps, and framed photographs. I want to unpack the giant metal freight container that came all the way from China to sit in my yard for a year.

But it’s keeping my furniture dry and smothering some poison ivy, and for Jack it’s the world’s biggest box of forgotten toys,  so I won’t complain.

In the evening after work, Jack asks for the house and we walk over. Because it feels good and comes in handy, we store his mega-sized Lego blocks in of our many unpainted base cabinets. Recently while testing paint colors, we discovered that a wren family had moved into a corner bookshelf. I was jealous, but I’m not the eviction type.

After he’s played with blocks and tools and his tricycle, which also lives there, Jack asks to go home. For now, that’s someone else’s. Grateful as I am, I’m longing for the day that “home” is ours.

One day, our kitchen table will sit right here.

We’re on topic #4 – lust – in Momalom‘s Five for Ten. Is my post about real lust? Not exactly. (Will a finished house inspire some? OhyesIthinkso. Don, are you reading?) Sorry, but sometimes this stuff gets read aloud to my grandfather. Go read Sarah’s post for something that doesn’t!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2010 1:52 am

    That’s so exciting!
    I have a little lust for your house as well 😉

  2. May 18, 2010 3:30 am

    A new house is so exciting! I hope you get to move in soon.

  3. May 18, 2010 12:42 pm

    It will happen. I know it is taking a lot longer than you would prefer… but it is happening. Good luck!

  4. May 19, 2010 12:58 am

    When you are building or renovating a house, it most certainly is all about lust. I get it, oh how I get it. Lust for cleanliness, for completeness, for nothing to do. All very real, raw emotions. You’ll get there I promise, and when you do you’ll be so satisfied. It’s really amazing.

    And, p.s., I can’t wait to see more photos!!

  5. May 19, 2010 1:03 pm

    I can so understand your house lust. I commend you for being so patient and working on your house little by little. You’ll surely be pleased with the result, and proud of the effort.

    I have house lust for others’ houses. This is why I’m addicted to HGTV. And I love taking walks at night when people’s lights are on. Then I can see inside their houses and know what new thing to lust for.

  6. May 29, 2010 7:23 pm

    What on Earth? I’m double checking all the Five for Ten posts to be sure that either Jen or me has left a comment, and Lo and Behold I did not comment on this post that I know that I read almost immediately after you posted it. Must have been a child that pulled me away. It wouldn’t be the first time!!!

    Anyhoooooo, House Lust. Yes. While I have a home, I still have it. Or rather, House Improvement lust. We have a bathroom half-finished, and another one in a sad, sad state needing a complete overhaul. It’s tragic, really, that we’ve lived here for two years and have completed so very little. However, with the change in seasons, our renovation motivation has kicked up a notch. As I write this, my husband is on a ladder outside the front door finally installing a new entry light. Phew! And I have a ginormous pile of new frames to fill and lined the foyer walls with. YAY!

Trackbacks

  1. Floors: the final act. « Five to Nine
  2. Sunday, the play-by-play. « Five to Nine

Leave a Reply

