Skip to content

a yes list

May 18, 2010
tags:

Today I said yes to postponing a meeting, which is one of my favorite things to do at work. Clearly I should say yes to revisiting the way I organize for meetings.

Speaking of efforts at organization, I ordered a 4-by-6-foot cork board for my office. It arrived, and my boss and coworkers said, “Really?” And I said yes. We got off on the wrong foot, as the first thing pinned to the board was a Hooters child’s menu/coloring sheet I brought in to laugh about. (It says, “Color Us!” And whatever you’re now imagining, it’s probably close.) Anyway, the Hooters souvenir came down, and today some calendars went up. Yes!

At the grocery this afternoon I said yes to Breyer’s and blackberries, even after weighing them against my better judgment and the price one small rubbed bronze cabinet pull (see last post, below), so that I could say yes to them late tonight.

Tonight, from early to late, I said yes to a diaperless toddler for three and a half hours with no accidents. But before we get ahead of ourselves, know that all this means is that he went naked and didn’t take any bathroom breaks. Around here, housebreaking comes first. Still, I think this warrants another Yes!

We said yes to reading “Sam” twenty-something times. Sam loves his car, cleans his car, puts gas in his car, watches for pedestrians,wears a hat, likes wheels, drives a bus…for an hour.

But because we told him yes to Sam, with a condition, Jack said yes to teeth-brushing! Worth it.

Don said yes to the baby wrens who are squatting in our house next door (last post) and whose mother stays away on particularly hammering-heavy days. Her eggs hatched just in time for the weekend, and the little birds were squawking – my husband looked in,  saw their gaping mouths, and went out into the yard to round up some grub. Yes, seriously. No, that is not how it works. But he didn’t run this by me until after he’d already dropped a handful of wriggling worms into the nest.

Jack is into Yes right now, too. As an answer to his questions, sure, but even more as an answer to ours. Sometime around last Thursday, he tired of being the one who points and asks, “stop sign?” or “water buffalo?” or “basketball?” or “Superwhy?” Now he points in silence, and we are supposed to ask him – “What’s this? What’s that?” so that he can shrug with gusto, palms up and everything. “Idoughno,” he says. I say, “Is it a wheel/dog/zebra/chimpanzee/blackberry/toothbrush?” And if it is, he says “Yes!”
I think he’s pretty sure that’s really all it takes to be me.

Yes is the last topic in Momalom‘s Five for Ten.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2010 2:09 pm

    I loved this. I really, really loved this. The end, about your son, I think is the perfect power of Yes.

  2. May 18, 2010 2:25 pm

    I am jealous of your 3 1/2 hours with no accidents. Deeply, wickedly jealous.

    • May 18, 2010 2:31 pm

      Well, I didn’t check the closets, so you know as well as I do that there still might be a puddle hiding somewhere. And because it’s barefoot season, I’m deeply, wickedly hoping that if there is, I’m not the one to find it.

  3. Sister permalink
    May 18, 2010 3:03 pm

    Oh, Breyers…I saw it at Target last night and was going to buy mint chocolate chip, but they were out. I’ll admit to closing the freezer door, crossing my arms, and stomping my foot, reminding myself of Jack’s “I wont!”

  4. May 18, 2010 3:10 pm

    What a delightful discovery you are, via TKW via Momalom’s Five-for-Ten. And just in time…

    I love your YES list (and applaud your tolerance for tweens and teens throughout the day). As a parent of two of those particular creatures, it is not for the faint of heart.

    Looking forward to reading you again.

  5. May 18, 2010 4:19 pm

    Great post! Love how he waits for you to offer suggestions. That is a smart little boy!

  6. May 18, 2010 5:44 pm

    Your yes list tells me so much about you! More than the average post, I think. Which has me thinking about that as a general truth: our yeses say a lot about us. What we say yes to. What we don’t.

  7. May 18, 2010 6:30 pm

    YES to Breyers ANYTIME.

    I like this idea of counting your “yes’.” It is important that we recognize how often we do say yes, even if it feels like we only say No.

  8. May 18, 2010 7:28 pm

    There’s a children’s menu at Hooters? Really? I’ve never been there, but I always took the statement “I go to Hooters for the wings” with the same grain of salt as “I read Playboy for the articles.”

    • May 18, 2010 8:07 pm

      As you should continue to, Kristen. It doubles as a coloring sheet, with two babes in bikinis. My friend Melissa told me that you’re supposed to color on their clothes. 🙂

  9. May 18, 2010 9:10 pm

    I, too, give a resounding “yes” to cork boards! (And ice cream and book-reading and bird-tending and the super-fun “I doughno” game.)

    SuperWhy, though?? I give it a “sometimes,” but my kiddos give it a “Yes,” capital Y. =>

    • May 18, 2010 11:44 pm

      Jack adores SuperWhy. I’m lukewarm on it, and my husband “doesn’t get it.”

  10. May 18, 2010 10:33 pm

    I long for a diaperless toddler. Our pediatrician said to ease up on the pressure to potty train. So, husband and I say a tenuous yes.

    Intrigued by the kid’s menu at Hooters!

  11. May 18, 2010 11:52 pm

    Paige went diaperless for most of today… and there were plenty of accidents 🙂 (I’m not ready to do the whole “potty training” thing w/ her, but she’s refusing diapers, and she’s a freaking drama queen… so I didn’t have it in me to wrestle with her all day to keep a diaper on… bonus? She peed on the potty for the first time ever tonight! Probably a coincidence, but still… totally made me feel better about her being naked all day.)
    That’s a HUGE yes for you!
    Dying laughing over the kids menu at Hooters!!! I have never been!

  12. May 19, 2010 12:55 am

    All of it fantastic, particularly postponing the meeting. I could do with a few of those about now. Yes to diaperless! A regular occurence around here. Just tonight at bathtime, I said yes to letting two little boys run around in the buff. Those cute little bums? I’ll say yes to them anytime! (Particularly the one that’s still toddling and squealing)

  13. May 19, 2010 2:33 am

    I say “yes” to this post! And a hearty “yes” to the gigglefest that would come from seeing your Hooter’s Children’s menu. Seriously? A child’s menu? I had no idea.

  14. May 19, 2010 2:59 am

    I love the Yes to Sam which resulted in a Yes to teeth brushing. That’s how it happens in my house too.

  15. May 19, 2010 1:07 pm

    Mr. B is potty-trained now, but before that, I was so afraid of getting peed on. You are brave for letting him go pants-less. Kids like that, but I don’t like accidents on my floor. I don’t know that I could handle that stress. Luckily, now, I can trust him to tell me he needs to go.

  16. May 19, 2010 5:13 pm

    It’s yes to the little things, right? As my fellow bloggers have already said, the Hooter’s menu sent me into some serious giggles. Thanks for the chuckle.

  17. May 20, 2010 3:00 am

    Fun list! I love how you worked a negotiation with your yes. Toddler negotiations are serious business.

  18. May 20, 2010 8:21 pm

    I can completely relate to what you’re going through. I have two toddlers. Getting them to say yes to things like teeth brushing is definitely a negotiation.

  19. May 21, 2010 11:00 am

    “I think he’s pretty sure that’s really all it takes to be me.”

    Oh, this! I often wonder what my children thinks it takes to be me. I’ve had enough stomping-mad tantrums lately–explaining everything I DO AROUND HERE–that I’m sure they think it takes a weeeee bit more than YES! But their actions tell me different. Oh, yes indeed!

    I adore your list. Your blackberries with ice cream and the wriggling worms, in particular.

    Yes to YOU, Leslie. You rock!

  20. May 22, 2010 2:40 am

    Breyer’s and blackberries? Really? We had that for dessert just last week. The kids thought I was NUTSO to give them berries to put ON their ice cream (instead of chocolate sauce. the horror!) And yet, the ATE IT UP and ASKED FOR MORE. Oh, sorry. Diversion. I really loved this post. And I might try the housebreaking method this time. In a year or so. In warm weather. Maybe.

Leave a Reply

