Skip to content

No complaints: Vol. 2-year-old

June 14, 2010


So it’s not all raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens – just yesterday he had a tantrum to rival any of his fits from those early, colicky days, and all because his cup was empty – but still, Jack’s twos are not so terrible, and full of my favorite things:

  • His matter-of-factness. I spent part of last week on a bus with 30 high school seniors, visiting four colleges in two days. This was only the third time I’ve spent the night away from Jack, who waved without tears when I got out of the car and later told everyone that “Mom is at work on the bus.” (He is a two-year-old boy, so it was a sure improvement over my usual office, where the only wheels are under my desk chair.)
  • A selective memory that comes in handy. He remembers almost everything as fun. On Saturday, we stopped at my friend Ann’s salon so my husband could get a trim. When her next client arrived, Jack said: “I get haircut. My turn next!” This despite the fact that his first haircut was nothing short of traumatic – she danced around him like a boxer with scissors rather than gloves, while he defended himself with hands and feet – and his second was tolerable, but no picnic. He is similarly (read: initially) fond of baths, doctor’s visits, and several other occasional and necessary interruptions in his happy little life. And I appreciate the optimism despite its half-life.
  • His home is where his heart is. And it’s a mobile home. Jack can’t remember living in our house, but he knows where his room is and where his crib will sit when we move it in. Out in the yard at my mother’s, when he is ready for a nap, he wants to “go home.” Out of town, he wants to sit in his car seat or lie down on his sheepskin – two homes away from home. Yesterday when we pulled up to his grandparents’ house, he said, “Gran, we’re home!”
  • He’s excitable. It’s easy to pull a Tom Sawyer on this kid, who will line up to help with dishes, laundry, toy pickups and oil changes.
  • and curious… He’s interested in everything, from the lug nuts on car tires to particular flowers and bird calls. It’s all What’s that and Look and Wow!
  • …and full of Vrooom! and other sound effects. Like Whoosh!, which for him is an airplane and for me is life.
9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2010 5:11 pm

    Leslie, those moments are so wonderful. As he grows older, his questions and observations will become more interesting. My four year old always calls it like it is and I am humbled by her honesty. It is one of the nice things about their age, censorship is something that they have not learned yet. Love the pics too.

  2. June 14, 2010 6:30 pm

    Just beautiful. I love the one about his home – and how adaptable he is, that as long as he has a few familiar things he feels comfortable. I could learn something from that!

  3. June 14, 2010 7:13 pm

    Jack is definitely a winner! Hopefully we will get to see him soon…

  4. June 14, 2010 7:13 pm

    Thank goodness for selective memory. How else could kids survive the indignities and traumas of childhood? And how else could we go to bed every night remembering the lovely parts of the day and not thinking quite so much about the not-so-lovely ones?

    Speaking of lovely parts of the day, thank you for sharing these oh-so-lovely parts of yours with us!

  5. June 14, 2010 9:48 pm

    Oh, wouldn’t my kids love for me or their dad to go to work on a bus! You’ve captured such heartwarming anecdotes here, as soft and cozy as that sheepskin Jack calls home. =>

  6. June 14, 2010 11:40 pm

    That selective memory is KEY! 🙂

  7. June 15, 2010 3:03 am

    As I read this I kept nodding my head. It sounds SO much like my daughter!

    I would say my favorite part is the selective memory. My daughter, thankfully, does not remember the gazillions of mistakes I make each day. She wakes up each morning with a huge smile on her face and a big kiss for her very imperfect momma.

  8. June 15, 2010 11:03 am

    How I adore that you are sharing it with us here, and how I can so relate. Little boys are tremendous wonders, and the wonder of them becoming little people is almost more exciting than my heart can bear. My youngest (16 months) has discovered to make all these exciting sounds and it is really so very delightful, so I fully relate to your joy.

  9. June 16, 2010 1:27 am

    Hmm. Selective memory. And I thought that was hormonal. 🙂

    Actually, one of my boys offered up his terrible twos from 18 months until age 3 and a half, intermixed with astonishing conversation. His younger brother never – and I mean never – went through the terrible twos.

    Wait. Amend that. He hit them at 16. But his vocabulary is more advanced now. The selective memory thing though… yep. Two’s and teens.

Leave a Reply

