Skip to content

On being a) away at summer camp and b) a lousy penpal

June 29, 2010

(Because I am both.)

My work schedule is full-time on steroids. This week I’m working with nearly 250 students, in big auditoriums and cozy classrooms and crowded residence halls (did you know they aren’t “dorms” anymore?). This morning, in a show of solidarity, I took the ACT. This afternoon I sent a student back to the dining hall for a lost retainer; tonight I’ve already heard of one sprained ankle. For the next six weeks,  I’ll feel a little nervous every time my phone rings.

And get this: My husband and I, who already have plenty in common, share a profession. He has a big group of students of his own, and they require night shifts. As in overnight. After all-day days.

We don’t have a summer break around here, but thank goodness we still have some weekends. Without those, how would we squeeze in all of the flooring, wiring and plumbing it’ll take for us to stop calling it The Project and start calling it our house?

So I’m offline, reading daily reports and writing on dry-erase boards. I hope you’re all enjoying porches and cold drinks – or whatever you fancy this time of year – and I look forward to catching up with you when I can.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2010 4:45 am

    Leslie, sounds like you are juggling, but also enjoying it. I think it is great that husband and you share the same profession – what an awesome way to provide a sounding board for one another.

    Try to squeeze in a cold drink in-between the juggling!

  2. June 29, 2010 5:12 am

    I think that many of us feel the same way! Enjoy your summer, lady!

  3. June 29, 2010 11:19 am

    Thinking of you lots!! And hoping, above all else, that you make some great progress on The Project.

  4. June 29, 2010 2:06 pm

    You’ll be missed, but it sounds like you’re not missing much with all that’s going on in your life right now. Good luck with The Project, and enjoy your summer!

  5. June 29, 2010 7:56 pm

    And you are sure you are still up for coming over Saturday evening for dinner? Let me know if you are too busy – we will certainly understand. Otherwise, what time do you think you will get here? Talk with you soon!

    – Mel E Mel

  6. Sus permalink
    June 29, 2010 9:28 pm

    And you and D are the best lady and gent for the job. Hang in there, sister! xo

  7. June 29, 2010 9:30 pm

    I miss your voice but am wishing you a summer of found retainers and healed ankles. =>

    And they’re most definitely residence halls, not dorms; just like it’s financial assistance, not financial aid. And they’re professors not teachers. And …

  8. June 29, 2010 9:35 pm

    Wow! And I thought my life was busy right now! You need a cool drink and a hammock – hope you find one soon!

  9. June 29, 2010 11:37 pm

    Have been missing your posts, but look forward to stories about your summer 🙂

  10. June 30, 2010 5:47 pm

    I wish you and your charges a distinct lack of odd illness and injuries. I’ll look forward to hearing your tales when you’re ready to tell them!

  11. July 2, 2010 7:09 pm

    Hope you get a few cozy moments “off” and together, nonetheless. Maybe some firefly-lit evenings, when all those students aren’t driving you too crazy?

Trackbacks

  1. Camped out. « Five to Nine

Leave a Reply

