Skip to content

Camped out.

July 30, 2010

Summer camp, that is. I’m running on seven weeks’ worth of emergency room trips, field trips, luaus, pizza and ice cream parties,  lost items still missing and found items unclaimed. My toddler has been my date to dances, talent shows, and – the hardest to confront – roller skating (I didn’t skate, but I watched in memory of my tailbone, which I lost at a rink in the early ’90s.).

I’ve enjoyed plenty of happy camper endings: one lost retainer, found; one broken thumb, on the mend; many broken teen friendships, repaired; many ACT scores, several points improved. My husband, for his part, is most proud of getting 50 students on and off of the L during Chicago rush hour.

And I love having tens – sometimes hundreds – of kids around. But I’m ready to scale it back to just my one kid, at least for a little while.

Because I’m starting to run out of batteries. On Sunday at the grocery I held up the checkout line while I ran to the car for my wallet. Last week I locked my keys in the car at the bank; I was going into the lobby after trying to use the drive-through and forgetting – for the third time –  that my driver’s side window is on the fritz.  (Worse: I’ve since given up and moved to using the drive-through anyway, lowering my seat back and the rear window, and shrugging to the cashier.)

But as of this afternoon, only 28 students, two weeks, and one three-day trip to Memphis will be left on the summer work calendar. Then onto vacation!

And of course by vacation  I mean setting sinks, painting cabinets and refinishing floors in 100-degree weather. So I’d better get to recharging…

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2010 4:22 am

    I have to confess, Leslie, that I am a little exhausted reading your summer camp experience. Hope you take a much needed break. On another note, glad you had some time to post.

  2. July 30, 2010 1:19 pm

    Poor Leslie is TOO busy! I am glad I will get to see you next Saturday at Parker’s birthday party. I miss you!

  3. July 30, 2010 1:37 pm

    I am in awe of you and your summer camp experience. You’re certainly a better woman than me, being able to handle that many kids at once!

    Btw, glad to see you around these parts again 🙂

  4. July 30, 2010 2:30 pm

    Leslie, I’m so glad to see you back! Rachel and I were just talking last night about the fact that our days have been a little less bright without you these past few weeks. Of course, as your latest post proves, you’ve had plenty to keep you busy without blogging. Good luck with your last two weeks and the house!

  5. July 30, 2010 4:38 pm

    Yeesh! Your days are full! No wonder your mind is, too. Hope Memphis treats you well and that you’re back to (relatively) low-key home-building soon. Good to “hear” your voice today.

  6. July 31, 2010 7:04 pm

    I don’t know how you do it… lots of caffeine and great vitamins?

  7. August 3, 2010 4:11 pm

    Wow. What a summer! This is why you have been absent! (I have missed your posts.) I bet you are ready for your vacation!

    On another note, your signs of busyness resemble mine as well. When I start losing everything, I realize I need to cut back. : )

  8. August 4, 2010 12:03 am

    My goodness, how in the world do you keep up? I’m exhausted just reading about this! You know I know how hard a home project is, but you have lots going on on top of that. Take care of yourself!

  9. August 10, 2010 12:31 am

    And I think I am busy. I totally cracked up at the thought of you leaning to the back window in a drive thru, I have so been there.

Leave a Reply

