Skip to content

Sunday, the play-by-play.

August 16, 2010

7 a.m. The curtain opened on the last act in our two-week play on flooring, following what we’d hoped would be about two hours of last-minute details (sanding corners, filling cracks with jute string) but turned into two days’ worth. No surprise: If I’ve learned anything from this project – other than how to build a house really slowly while living with your mother – it’s that when you’re doing that, what you imagine is a two-hour job will stretch into the next bank holiday.

9 a.m.-2 p.m. Jack was a sport (re: PLEASE DON’T STEP THERE and TAKE YOUR SHOES OFF FIRST). He spent all weekend vacuuming alongside me with his mini Dirt Devil and enjoying a reunion with many other toys,  all excavated from our storage container, which we finally emptied into our living room last week. His toolbox runneth over. He and his gear (said toys, a pallet for the floor, an all-day buffet, a laptop and his favorite Pee-Wee’s Playhouse DVD, out of season but always good in a pinch) had to migrate from room to room as we worked our way out the door. He left only for naps.

It was the most time he’s spent at our house in eight months.

5 p.m. Last night, while waiting at last for a coat of polyurethane to dry, we drove south for more (we’ve bought out all of the Clear Satin in Northwest Arkansas) and for milkshakes, then stopped at a park on the way back to get him good and tired for an early bedtime. I had plans to get him to sleep at my mother’s house and then walk back to hours to make my husband’s late night a little less late.

8:30 p.m. Foiled again. My mother had to drive into town to pick up my sister, whose car was clanking and smoking and stuck in the parking lot of a drive-through chicken place, and I stayed with Jack. Which was good, because tonight marked his first big throwup. Damn milkshake. Chocolate, too.

But my son’s first vomit is not something I’d want to miss. He was surprised and scared (it got in his nose) and worried about his crib (“Is my pillow okay? Is my sheepskin clean yet?”), and I was relieved to be there, if not quite glad to be covered in puke.

Monday, 5:30 a.m. Encore! Don put on the final coat while I stayed home to keep an eye on our sleeping child and make the coffee, always thankful for getting the long end of the stick.

Post edit: Thanks to my sister for pointing out that I typed “out house” rather than “our” house. Right now we don’t have a running toilet, so they’re all too similar…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2010 4:42 pm

    First, throw up simply stinks. And not just literally. I hope Jack is better!

    Second, I am awed. Building a house is something else. My parents added a second story to ours when I was little. Brave souls.

  2. August 16, 2010 5:00 pm

    The long end of the stick! Ha! (Poor little guy.)

    Can’t say I recall the first vomit as a milestone, for either of my kids – though I certainly remember the first trip to the ER with each!

    I got a good (innocent) little chuckle out of this post. Hope you don’t mind. And hope Jack is doing much better!

    • August 17, 2010 2:58 am

      I like to exercise the chuckle, innocent or not. Between the pillow, the sheepskin, and his total confusion, I’m pretty sure this will prove to stay A Vomit to Remember. Now I’m only wondering how it didn’t happen earlier – say, last weekend, when he ate THREE HOT DOGS at one birthday party.

  3. August 16, 2010 6:49 pm

    Hope Jack is better.

    I can’t recall marking my daughter’s first puke session, but remember a subsequent puke session at a movie theater. Of course, I wasn’t prepared – no wipes, no extra clothes. Ended up taking her home, hot sun and vomit causing my own gag reflex.

    • August 17, 2010 3:01 am

      I’m all too often a sympathy puker, so I was relieved to make it through the cleanup effort without getting sick myself. You’d better believe, though, that I’ll now be packing plenty of supplies when I take him to his first movie.

  4. August 16, 2010 10:17 pm

    The first throwup – aww poor guy. I hadn’t even thought about that. It is pretty scary for a little one isn’t it? Glad you were able to be there for him.

    I hope I will be too when it hits my little girl.

  5. August 17, 2010 9:42 pm

    I will just say: blueberries. And, no, the pillow was not okay. =>

    Sorry for the little guy’s inaugural puke, a milestone indeed. And he has a mini Dirt Devil? How awesome is that?!

    PS: Congrats on finished floors!! You’re one step closer … literally!

  6. August 19, 2010 12:27 am

    Hope he’s feeling better.

    My son had terrible reflux as a newborn so he was always a vomiter up until 1 year old. I can’t think of anyone close to me who didn’t get soaked, or at least splattered.

Leave a Reply

