Skip to content

Questions, comments, concerns.

August 19, 2010

most commonly shared, from the Jack files

Questions

Can we go to Home Depot?

Can we play Battleship again?

Can I help?

Can we go to Home Depot now?

Can I have more olives?

What is that you’re talking to on the phone?

Do you want to hear some real rock-n-roll?*

Can I have some more olives please?

Are we there yet?

Are we in the jungle?*

Should I break it?

Are the floors still shiny?

Is This Old House coming on?

Should I touch the stove?

Do you want to play a game with me?

Did you go to Home Depot?

Can you put the cooler in my crib?*

And my big old bulldozer?

Can we go to a party?

Are you going to work?

Can you warm it up for me, please?

Can I come too?

Why?

Comments

I like Home Depot.
I don’t touch the saws.
That little boy doesn’t like to play with my toys. (not true, but nice try.)
We bought two toilet tanks at Home Depot!

I like Kanye West.
Let’s listen to Maroon 5.
Not THAT song!
I want to listen to this (Mary Chapin Carpenter).

I”d better go pee. (!!!)
I peed, all by myself!
Your boobies are bigger than mine. (true, but minutely at this point.)
I am a big help.

I want some watermelon.
Let’s watch TV.
Not yet, Mommy.

Daddy’s car is a forklift. *
One time I saw a monkey in the jungle.*
I love Elmo.
Okay, now I’ll have a party.

Thanks for coming home, Mommy.

Concerns

But you don’t have to wash my hair.
No, you DON’T need to cook it.
Yes, I DO HAVE TO SCREAM!
My pacifier is lost.
I can’t find my drill.
You’re too big for my bike.
But I want to!
I DON’T want to.
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!
Yyeesssssss!
I’m sad.
Arthur isn’t on.
Ouchie. It hurts!
I can’t do it.
Oops…
* A total mystery.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2010 12:20 pm

    Jack is way too cool! I am excited I get to see him Sunday!

    P.S. I just sent you a text. You must reply Leslie. You must. Later homegirl!

  2. August 19, 2010 2:20 pm

    Too cute!
    Love the random/mystery ones the most! πŸ™‚

  3. August 19, 2010 3:23 pm

    Oh the random ramblings of a child. I have those days when my daughter is ping-ponging questions and observations… so hard to keep up!

  4. August 19, 2010 3:29 pm

    He sounds awesome. And talkative. πŸ˜‰

  5. August 19, 2010 5:28 pm

    Put him in a room with my 4 year old and we’d never get a word in edgewise. I love the chatter, but it exhausts me at the same time.

    P.S. Let’s go to Home Depot is a popular one here too!

    Oh, and just the other day: “Mommy, you have a chubby but.” Thanks kid.

  6. Sus permalink
    August 19, 2010 7:19 pm

    I love that ‘I can’t find my drill’ follows ‘my pacifier is lost.’ And ‘Can I break it?’ is awesome, too :).

  7. Sus permalink
    August 19, 2010 7:21 pm

    oops, *should I break it…

  8. August 19, 2010 8:30 pm

    Here I am looking forward to my Little Miss forming full sentences. But really…I don’t know what I’m TRULY wishing for do I? πŸ™‚

    • August 21, 2010 1:32 am

      To date, the sentences are miraculous – those pesky (and occasional, I swear!) four-letter words? Not so much.

  9. August 19, 2010 11:58 pm

    Love it all (and a few sound vaguely familiar πŸ˜‰ )

  10. August 20, 2010 12:04 am

    the washing hair one is a new concern here as well. {sigh}

  11. August 20, 2010 5:06 pm

    How old is he? His concerns sound a lot like my little girl, except she says “No Way!” I know, awesome right?

    • August 21, 2010 1:31 am

      He’s two, Amber – they’re close to the same age. And he says “No way!” too. Often followed by “What will we DO?”

  12. August 21, 2010 2:30 pm

    I get as many requests to go to Target as you do for Home Depot. Difference between boys and girls, perhaps?

  13. August 21, 2010 3:31 pm

    Does he own stock in Home Depot?

    πŸ™‚

    This is stream of consciousness at its best!

  14. August 30, 2010 9:03 pm

    Yes. Yes, absolutely, yes, you should always break it. Whatever it is. =>

    (Love your little guy!!)

Trackbacks

  1. Reeling in the year « Five to Nine

Leave a Reply

