Skip to content

And then there are the REALLY tough questions

August 25, 2010


…Like the ones the thoughtful and clever Jana posed to a few blogging friends several weeks back. At first I was all, “Wow, thanks Jana! I needed a ready-made post!

Then I read the questions again and thought hard. Rinse and repeat.

If you had to pick an animal that defines you, what animal would it be?
After two months of indecision, I’m going with the turtle. Turtles remind me of family and home, thanks to my oldest birthday tradition, which comes courtesy of the turtle’s tendency to stick close to home – with the occasional daredevil trip across the road. I’m a fan of the shell – some days, I could really use a thicker one – and of their life expectancy (off-road, anyway).

What is the ideal wake-up time?
For me, it’s 6-something on a weekend morning. I’m an early-to-rise, late-to-madness kind of a girl. I love to getting up before everyone else, and while I hate to waste the day, I love to look out on a morning so long that I can lounge around in it with a latte or two for an hour or two, reading cookbooks and watching early-morning television and flipping through the less important bits of the newspaper.

If you had a day completely to yourself, how would you spend it?
Well, right off the bat, I’d ask for more wishes.
(Also, I’d make sure that my husband and son were busy doing something they consider Fun that I consider anything but, like attending a crowded sports event or visiting an exhibit on automotive history or eating hot dogs.)
I’d get up early and treat most of the day like a long morning – coffee with lots of foam, books and magazines with a little fluff. I’d play the piano. I’d probably bake something ambitious and have a solo sing-along, and then go out with my camera. My phone would be dead to me. In the afternoon, I would walk down to pick up the mail and then deliberate over whether to drive in to pick up Chinese food (we’re rural, so takeout is a delicacy). I would decide to do it, and allow myself two dishes AND an order of gyoza, which I would eat while watching a simple, funny, likable movie (absolutely no battlefield or Angelina permitted.)

Name a cd that would have to be, hands down, your desert island cd. (Let’s ignore the lack of electricity on desert islands.)
Speaking of: My husband is forever criticizing my dependency on Blistex and Kiehls (anytime I leave home without it, I make a stop at a drug store), saying things like “What if you were stuck on a desert island? Then what would you do?” And I say, “If I were stuck on a desert island, I’d have a lot more than lip balm to worry about.”
Like a lifetime of one disc of songs. Oh, man:

“Minor Swing,” Django Reinhardt
“Super Woman,” Alicia Keys
“The Horses,” Rickie Lee Jones
“You Send Me,” Aretha Franklin
“Soul Singing,” the Black Crowes
“Seasons of Love,” Rent
“Bears,” Lyle Lovett
“Wachet Auf,” Bach
“Sunday Morning,” Maroon Five
“Thin Line,” the Dixie Chicks
“The Lick Hollow Ramble,” original bluegrass, my father
Penny Lane,” as sung by Elvis Costello in his recent tribute to Paul McCartney
“I Ain’t Blue,” Bonnie Raitt
“If I Were You,” Kasey Chambers
“Chim Chim Cher-ee,” arr., my brother
“Lovestoned,” Justin Timberlake
“Oh Happy Day,” Sister Act-style
“Ain’t Gwine Whistle Dixie (Any Mo’),” Taj Mahal

But, long story short, if Jana made me pick one actual album over My Desert Island Mix Tape it’d be Duke Ellington’s Near East Suite.

What are three things you hope to accomplish within the next decade?
1. Finish my house.
2. Have more children – a couple to a few – and perhaps select, among two applicants, one stay-at-home parent for a 5+ year appointment.
3. Learn to play “Take Five” on the piano. Fast.

So, what animal are you? Would you sleep in? I’d like to take this opportunity ask you some interesting questions of my own, but it’ll take a few weeks for me to commit to them.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Christine permalink
    August 25, 2010 10:51 am

    Too funny! We both took some time answering and then we both answered on the same day. Though I couldn’t answer them all, and at least the last one I’m still thinking about and will plan to write a whole post about it.

    In the sleep department we are opposite, while I am not a sleep in really late kind of girl, I would like to get to 8:00 sometimes, just to make up for the early mornings all week. And I go to bed early all the time, even on the weekends. Sometimes as early as 9:00. I need lots of sleep.

  2. August 25, 2010 1:20 pm

    I love your answers! What’s also funny is that while I asked these questions, I didn’t answer them. I had to ask different questions than I answered. So my animal is a cat (it’s just a fact ; my wake-up time is 8 a.m.; my album is too hard to think about right now, but might be something classical because I would want lots and lots of depth and calm; and as far as accomplishments go, writing a book!

    There we go! Great post, Leslie. I have to say I’m shocked that you’d actually choose a 6 a.m. wake-up time. Really.

  3. August 25, 2010 1:45 pm

    I am surprised you settled on an animal! That is impressive!

    Your three things you wish to accomplish really made me laugh.

    Like you, I prefer to wake up before other people. That is, I did prefer to wake up early until I had my second baby. Now, I prefer to sleep in as long as I possibly can. Which means, I never sleep in. So it goes. ; )

  4. August 25, 2010 2:36 pm

    Great answers! Some of those *are* tough questions! The animal thing… I have no idea. I think I’d say a tiger just because I think they’re beautiful and I love cats.

    Your 3 things to accomplish are great, and I love that you decided to make your own “mix tape” for your stay on a deserted island! 🙂

  5. August 25, 2010 4:12 pm

    I love the animal question 🙂
    And man… if you could play Take Five on the piano, I’d be so impressed!! I might bow to you!

  6. August 25, 2010 4:47 pm

    I like waking up super early as well. It clears my head and I like to hear silence. I don’t know what animal I would be… interesting thought. Loved reading this post.

  7. August 25, 2010 6:02 pm

    What, no Britney on the list of songs? 🙂 “Sunday Morning” is my favorite Maroon 5, too. Is it also Jack’s favorite? Love this post and will probably swipe it for my blog!

  8. August 27, 2010 3:23 pm

    Oh my God, I think I just realized something. I’m totally a turtle. Crap! I wanna be something cool like a narwhal or a jaguar but alas, I am a turtle.

  9. August 28, 2010 3:41 pm

    Love all these details. What a delightful way to express other aspects of self.

    (As for dependency on Blistex – I get it!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

